skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1834 in date [X]
31 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From F. W. Hope   15 January 1834


Acknowledges CD’s letter about alpine entomology of Tierra del Fuego; discusses geographical distribution; urges CD to make a chart of vegetable and geological distribution of insects. Advises him on species to collect and assures him of all assistance in describing his captures on his return.

Tells of founding of Entomological Society, and enrolls CD.

News of J. F. Stephens’ lawsuit and continuation of his Illustrations of British entomology [1827–46]. Praises general state of zoological science in England.

Author:  Frederick William Hope
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Jan 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-235

From Catherine Darwin   27–30 January 1834


News of family and friends: W. D. Fox will marry in the spring; private theatricals at Eaton house-party.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27-30 Jan 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-236

From Susan Darwin   12[–28] February 1834


Writes on CD’s 25th birthday.

Points out "errors in orthography" in his journal.

News of family and friends, visits, and other social events.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12[–28] Feb 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-237

To J. S. Henslow   March 1834


On fossils ([Megatherium], etc.), plants, shells sent and new ones found; geological observations. Asks for help in understanding cleavage and planes of deposition.

A new species of ostrich. Cites differences in size, colour, nidification, and geographical distribution.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  Mar 1834
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-238

From Caroline Darwin   9–28 March [1834]


They learn from a garbled report in the Times that CD’s specimens have arrived in Cambridge.

William Clift, at Royal College of Surgeons, delighted by CD’s letter about the bones that were sent to Plymouth.

Strange coincidence that Royal College of Surgeons has the front portion and CD has sent home the remainder of a skull, of which a drawing can now be completed.

Other news of family and friends.

Author:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 & 28 Mar [1834]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-239

From J. M. Herbert   [28 March] 1834


A letter full of news of Cambridge and friends: the BAAS meeting at Cambridge; charges of corruption in the University; the Cambridge petition on behalf of Dissenters.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Mar] 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 126
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-240

To Edward Lumb   30 March 1834


CD asks the time of shipment and vessel in which the [Megatherium] bones were conveyed.

Patagonia swarms with guanaco, but few other creatures.

Hopes to be able to draw up a tolerable sketch of the geology of the east side of S. America.

Saw Jemmy Button, who is married and will stay in Tierra del Fuego. Mentions Falkland uprising.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Lumb
Date:  30 Mar 1834
Classmark:  Profiles in History (dealers) (2006)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-241

To Catherine Darwin   6 April 1834


Describes Patagonia and its inhabitants.

Writes of his pleasure in geology.

Predicts that Falklands will become an "important halting place". Outlines Beagle’s future itinerary.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  6 Apr 1834
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-242

From William Owen Sr   10 April – 1 May 1834


Writes a cordial letter with family and local news. Hopes CD will see his two sons in India.

P.S. by Catherine Darwin says no letter was written this month as all is well at home.

Author:  William Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Apr–1 May 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-243

From Edward Lumb to J. S. Henslow   2 May 1834


On CD’s instructions EL has forwarded a case containing part of the head of [Megatherium].

Author:  Edward Lumb
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  2 May 1834
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-244

From Edward Lumb   8 May 1834


Responds to CD’s queries: the bones were received from Mr Keen and shipped to Henslow; expects another collection which he will forward.

Adds news that has arrived at Buenos Aires since CD left.

Author:  Edward Lumb
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 May 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 128
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-245

From Susan Darwin   [23] May 1834


News of family and friends.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23] May 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 103
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-246

From Robert Edward Alison   [June? 1834]


Sends some historical data to illustrate the elevation of the coast at Valparaiso in recent times.

Author:  Robert Edward Alison
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [June? 1834]
Classmark:  DAR 36: 425–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-247

To Catherine Darwin   20–9 July 1834


In the past six months he has done much geology and natural history. His geological pursuits are a source of high pleasure. Has lately determined to work chiefly on corals.

Spent three weeks going up the Santa Cruz with a party; they ran out of provisions 20 miles from the Cordilleras. Winter at present prevents his doing much natural history.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  20–9 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-248

From J. S. Henslow   22 July 1834


CD’s cargo is safe; the fossils have been sent to William Clift.

JSH asks for dried plants (those sent were all of greatest interest).

Sends news of Cambridge and mutual friends.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-249

To Charles Whitley   23 July 1834


Would welcome hearing Cambridge news. Impossible not to regret friends and pleasures in England, but

has much solid enjoyment and never-failing interest in geology. Tells of his first sight of a savage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Thomas Whitley
Date:  23 July 1834
Classmark:  National Library of Australia (MS 4260)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-250

To J. S. Henslow   24 July – 7 November 1834


CD is excited by JSH’s high opinion of his collections.

Discusses his notes and some new discoveries. Summary of events since leaving Falklands.

Geology of Patagonia.

Corallines at Tierra del Fuego convince him of artificiality of arrangement of their families by Lamarck and Cuvier.

Geological expedition in Andes, ending with serious illness. Specimens being sent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  24 July & 28 Oct & 7 Nov 1834
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-251

From H. S. Fox   25 July 1834


Thanks CD for letter of 5 April and specimens; did not know the Falklands and Patagonia were so interesting geologically.

Will answer CD’s queries about S. Brazil in another letter. Names Friedrich Sellow, A. Saint-Hilaire, and Andrew Mathews as naturalists who travelled there. Directs CD to Alexander Caldcleugh in Santiago.

Author:  Henry Stephen Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 123
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-252

To Caroline Darwin   9–12 August 1834


Thanks for her letter of March, which gave him his first explanation of the interest in the [Megatherium] head he had sent.

Wants E. A. Darwin to tell William Clift not to remove numbers or markers on any specimens. The British Museum has first claim on any of his specimens; CD cannot at present say where any should go.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Date:  9–12 Aug 1834
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-253

From [Alexander Caldcleugh?]   [28 August – 5 September 1834]


Gives a map of part of Chile between Santiago and San Fernando. Suggests places and people that CD might profitably visit [en route].

Author:  Alexander Caldcleugh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Aug – 5 Sept 1834]
Classmark:  DAR 35: 405
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-255
Document type
01 (2)
02 (1)
03 (4)
04 (2)
05 (3)
06 (1)
07 (5)
08 (3)
09 (2)
10 (3)
11 (4)
12 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next