skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1833 in date [X]
41 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

From Robert FitzRoy   [1833?]

Summary

List of mountains with their heights.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1833?]
Classmark:  DAR 40: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-194

From Caroline Darwin   13 January 1833

Summary

Family news. Uncle Jos [Josiah Wedgwood II] has been returned to Parliament with a fine majority.

Author:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 74
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-195

From J. S. Henslow   15–21 January 1833

Summary

Acknowledges receipt of two letters from CD and a box of specimens.

Mentions attendance at BAAS meeting and a gift to him of a small living near Oxford. Some political news.

Congratulates CD on the work he has done – the specimens are of great interest. Gives advice on packing, labelling, and future collecting and suggests that – as a precaution – CD send home a copy of his notes on the specimens.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 and 21 Jan 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 111
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-196

From E. A. Darwin to J. S. Henslow   23 January [1833]

Summary

EAD will forward a book and letter to CD; thanks JSH for sending CD’s letters.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  23 Jan [1833]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew: Henslow letters: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-198

From W. D. Fox   23 January 1833

Summary

His health has improved but he continues "a good deal of an invalid" and is uncertain what the future holds for him.

His interest in entomology and ornithology continues; he has been studying the gulls on the Isle of Wight.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Jan 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-197

From R. W. Darwin   and the Misses Darwin to J. S. Henslow 1 February 1833

Summary

Send their thanks to JSH for allowing them to see the two letters, one written ten days later than any they have received.

Author:  Robert Waring Darwin; Caroline Sarah Darwin; Susan Elizabeth Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  1 Feb 1833
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-199

From Susan Darwin   3–6 March 1833

Summary

Captain Beaufort has offered to get one more letter to CD before the long voyage around the Horn;

SD brings family news up to date.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 & 6 Mar 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 99
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-200

From Caroline Darwin   7 March [1833]

Summary

Sends her love and family news.

Author:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Mar [1833]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-202

From R. W. Darwin   7 March 1833

Summary

Writes of the pleasure all feel in CD’s continued good health and joy in his voyage.

Tells of the banana tree he bought, which he sits under and thinks of CD "in similar shade".

CD’s financial accounts are correct.

Author:  Robert Waring Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Mar 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-201

To Caroline Darwin   30 March – 12 April 1833

Summary

Account of the four-month voyage to Tierra del Fuego, Cape Horn, and return. The Fuegians are landed with Richard Matthews [the missionary in charge of them]. Storms, seasickness, hostile savages, and scenery are described. His increasing interest in all branches of natural history makes the hardships worth while. FitzRoy buys a schooner. CD will stay at Rio Negro while it is fitted.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Date:  30 Mar – 12 Apr 1833
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-203

To J. S. Henslow   11 April 1833

Summary

Description of the months at Tierra del Fuego. His first sight of the primitive Fuegians. Geological and zoological observations and specimens.

The Falklands: geological and zoological observations.

Convinced the [Megatherium] sent to Royal College of Physicians [by Woodbine Parish] belongs to same formation as bones he sent home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  11 Apr 1833
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-204

From Caroline Darwin   1–4 May 1833

Summary

News of family and friends.

Author:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1-4 May 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-205

To Catherine Darwin   22 May – 14 July 1833

Summary

Longs to be on the other side of the Horn; tired of these countries. Natural history makes him continue. He now knows it will remain his favourite pursuit for the rest of his life.

Comments on slavery.

Will have additional space on board and a servant [Syms Covington] who will help him with the collection of birds and quadrupeds.

Asks for books, a lens, and four pairs of shoes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  22 May – 14 July 1833
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-206

To W. D. Fox   23 May 1833

Summary

He misses society. "I often conjecture what will become of me; my wishes certainly would make me a country clergyman. – You expect sadly more than I shall ever do in Nat. Hist: I am only a sort of Jackall, a lions provider; but I wish I was sure there were lions enough."

Has collected a host of minute beetles, some reptiles, small quadrupeds, and fishes. Invertebrate marine animals are his delight. The pleasure of working with microscope ranks second only to geology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  23 May 1833
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 46b)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-207

From Catherine Darwin   29 May 1833

Summary

She and Susan are in London, and she writes of people they have seen or had news of: Captain Harding, E. A. Darwin, Fanny [Mrs Hensleigh] Wedgwood, Emma Wedgwood, the Langtons, Josiah Wedgwood and Aunt Bessie, Fanny Biddulph and child, and the Evanses of Portrane.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 May 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 87
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-208

To J. M. Herbert   2 June 1833

Summary

Describes Tierra del Fuego and Cape Horn; was reminded of hours at Barmouth; chafes at the length of the trip.

Hopes the Whigs will do away with slavery – has seen enough of it and Negroes to be disgusted with the lies heard in England.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  2 June 1833
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-209

To J. S. Henslow   18 July 1833

Summary

Fears JSH will think his collections scanty. Makes it a constant rule to prefer obscure and diminutive tribes of animals.

Now has a servant whom he has taught to skin birds, etc.

Lists four barrels of specimens he is sending.

Gives future route. He looks forward to the western coast of South America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  18 July 1833
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-210

From Susan Darwin   22–31 July 1833

Summary

News of family and friends after skipping June letter: Osmaston and the Foxes, five weeks in London, the Langtons in Shropshire, Fanny Biddulph and daughter, R. W. Darwin, and Charles Hughes.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 & 31 July 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-211

From Robert FitzRoy   24 [August 1833]

Summary

Wishes CD well on his trip to General Juan Manuel Rosas. CD is to send word when he wants a boat; there is no hurry, for there is plenty of work for the sounders. He envies CD’s travels.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 [Aug 1833]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-212

From J. S. Henslow   31 August 1833

Summary

The [Megatherium] fossils were extremely interesting and were shown at the Geological Section of the BAAS meeting at Cambridge [1833].

The plants delight him; will work them out with W. J. Hooker.

CD should send every fossil he can find; minute insects will be nearly all new. Delighted with descriptions of the few animals alluded to.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1833
Classmark:  DAR 97(ser. 2): 14–15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-213
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1833
01 (5)
02 (1)
03 (4)
04 (1)
05 (4)
06 (1)
07 (2)
08 (2)
09 (4)
10 (9)
11 (6)
12 (2)
Page: 1 2 3  Next