skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1832::07 in date [X]
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Catherine Darwin   5 July [1832]


Sailing next day to Montevideo. He has taken many hitherto undescribed animals. Describes the glories of the Brazilian forest.

Mentions his concern over the Reform Bill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  5 July [1832]
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-176

To Susan Darwin   14 July – 7 August [1832]


Regrets leaving the tropics, despite interest in a land where Europeans have never been. They have experienced political turmoil at Montevideo. Natural history going well.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  14 July – 7 Aug [1832]
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-177

To J. S. Henslow   [23 July –] 15 August [1832]


Specimens being sent off. Describes his collection of rocks, plants, and insects. Some particularly interesting specimens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [23 July –] 15 Aug [1832]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 13 DAR/1/1/13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-178

From Catherine Darwin   25 July [– 3 August] 1832


Tells of the family’s pleasure in reading CD’s first two letters and his journal.

Comments on Shrewsbury politics, the cholera, and the family. Sedgwick calls often; Catherine thinks he is interested in Susan.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 July [– 3 Aug] 1832
Classmark:  DAR 204: 85
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-179