skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "1874 Darwin, C. R."

Darwin Correspondence Project
1874 and Darwin and C and R in keywords disabled_by_default
14 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

Walker, Francis (1809–74)

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Monthly Magazine 11 (1874): 140–1 1,2,9,10,11,13,15,24 Darwin, C. R. chalcids Hymenoptera …

Story-Maskelyne, T. M. (1834–1926)

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Darwin, C. R. 1874. Flowers of the primrose destroyed …

Meyer, A. B. (1840–1911)

Matches: 1 hit

  • … in Dresden, from 1874. Auk 28 (1911): 519. 16,17,18,20 Darwin, C. R. Wallace, A. R. Linn. …

Rade, Emil (1832–1931)

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1874; of the botanical section, 1877. Organised the production of a dedicatory album of German and Austrian scientists in honour of CD, presented in 1877. Gries 2006 Bibliography Gries, Brunhild. 2006. Emil Rade (1832–1931), sein Anteil an der naturkundlichen Erforschung Westfalens und das Darwin-Album von 1877. Abhandlungen aus dem Westfälischen Museum für Naturkunde 68 (2): 1–93. 24,25,27 Darwin, C. R. …

From Joseph Fayrer   6 January 1875



Encloses results of experiments on influence of snake poison on ciliary action and vegetable protoplasm.

Author:  Joseph Fayrer, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1875
Classmark:  DAR 58.2: 71, 73–82, DAR 164: 112
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9806

Matches: 1 hit

  • r F.R.S The following experiments were made at the suggestion of Mr C Darwin with the object of testing the influence of snake poison on ciliary action, especially in reference to its comparative action on vegetable protoplasm—as will be seen by his remarks. June 29 th . 1874

Ludwig, Camilla (1837/8–1912)

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1874. CD’s Classed account books (Down House MS) Census returns of England and Wales 1881 (The National Archives: Public Record Office RG11/1013/76/12) letter from R. S. Pattrick, 19 October 1881 England & Wales, national probate calendar ( index of wills and administrations ) , 1858–1966 (, accessed 1 February 2016) Surrey, England, Church of England marriages, 1754–1937 (, accessed 3 October 2018) 8,9,10,12,13,14,16,19,20,WSL,24,29,30 Darwin family Darwin, C. R. …

Watkins, Frederick (1808–88)

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1874–88. Alum. Cantab . Bibliography Alum. Cantab. : Alumni Cantabrigienses. A biographical list of all known students, graduates and holders of office at the University of Cambridge, from the earliest times to 1900. Compiled by John Venn and J. A. Venn. 10 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1922–54. 1,2,7,8,26 Darwin, C. R. …

Heckel, Édouard (1843–1916)

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1874. Professor of botany, Faculté des sciences, Marseilles, 1877; of materia medica, École de plain exercise de médicine et de pharmacie, 1879. Translated CD’s Cross and self fertilisation and other works into French. Osborne 2014 , pp. 165–9 Bibliography Osborne, Michael A. 2014. The emergence of tropical medicine in France . Chicago and London: University of Chicago Press. 23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30 Darwin, C. R. …

From George Cupples   21 February 1874


Answers to queries are being sent.

Enclosure 1: statistics on puppies bred by Rayner in 1873.

Enclosure 2 from W. N. Massey: number of males or females raised depends entirely on preference of greyhound breeders.

Enclosure 3 from E. L. Williams: breeders prefer to destroy bitch pups.

Enclosure 4: Thomas Morse answers CD’s three queries, transmitted by GC: (1) in deerhounds, females predominate, three to one; (2) in all but cattle, females are less worth preserving; (3) TM rears all the young.

Enclosure 5: John Wright responds to CD’s queries about proportion of sexes in births of horses, cattle, and dogs.

Enclosure 6: G. W. Hickman cannot give reliable answers to CD’s queries on proportion of sexes born [in greyhounds?].

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 90: 91–2, 94–7, 102–13, 117–19; DAR 161: 301
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9309

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin merely to indicate the line of inquiry I have gone upon | G.  C. ] Pershore R d . | Birm m . Feb.  19 th . 1874. …

From Charles Lyell   1 September 1874


Comments on Tyndall’s [Presidential] Address at Belfast meeting [of BAAS] and praise of CD’s work there. Mentions criticism of Belfast clergy.

CL saw some crustacean footprints while in Ireland.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Sept 1874
Classmark:  K. M. Lyell ed. 1881, 2: 445-6; The University of Edinburgh Centre for Research Collections (Lyell collection Coll-203/B9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9619

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Sep.  1. 1874 Copy Sir C. Lyell—to M r . Darwin I have been intending from day to day to …

From John Lubbock    2 April 1874


Is willing to sell the land CD wants for £300.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 198: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9385F

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1874. (Copy) Dear M r . Darwin, I find that I can sell the piece of land you wish for, & shall be happy to do so if you are still desirous to have it. My agent writes me that he estimates the value at £300 Believe me, | Yours very truly | John Lubbock. C.  Darwin Esq. Town Hall, Bromley, Kent. April 1 st 187 4 Dear Sir John, We have been over your property at Down; adjoining M r . …

From A. S. G. Canning   16 February 1874


Offers information on pea-fowl for new edition of Variation.

Author:  Albert Stratford George Canning
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 161: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9296

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1874. Sir Understanding from M r Murray that another edition of your ‘Varieties of Animals & Plants under domestication’ is likely, I take the liberty of saying that I have had some experience respecting the Black-winged Peafowl described at some length in your book— If there is any question referring to this singular bird, which you would like to ask, it would give me great pleasure to place all information I possess on the subject at your service— Trusting you will excuse the liberty of addressing you | I am, Sir, | y r obedient Servant | ASG Canning Charles Darwin, Esq re | &c. & …

To Edward Nicholson   26 August [1874]


Thanks EN for his book [Indian snakes, 2d ed. (1874)]. CD is pleased that it calls attention to gradation in the character of snake poison.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Nicholson
Date:  26 Aug [1874]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9607

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin’s Natural selection: being the second part of his big species book written from 1856 to 1858. Edited by R. C. Stauffer. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1975. Nicholson, Edward. 1874. …

To Down School Board   [after 29 November 1873]


CD, Sir John Lubbock, Ellen Frances Lubbock, and S. E. Wedgwood, petition the Board to grant permission for the school hall to be used as a reading room in the evening during winter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Down School Board
Date:  [after 29 November 1873]
Classmark:  Bromley Historic Collections, Bromley Central Library (P/123/25/31/2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9122

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin , [ c. 29 November 1873] and n.  2. CD was a member of the Down School Board until November 1874 (see letter to Down School Board, 19 December 1873 , Correspondence vol.  22, letter to Down School Board, 16 November 1874 , and J.  R.   …