skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Hooker J D" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1874::03 in date disabled_by_default
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From J. D. Hooker   3 March 1874



The row at the Linnean Society and other troubles.

The Agricultural Society has sent Anton De Bary £100 to investigate the potato disease – an insult to M. J. Berkeley, who had worked on it for 30 years.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Mar 1874
Classmark:  DAR 103: 189–92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9331

To J. D. Hooker   4 March [1874]



CD guessed Carruthers was stirred up by Owen. Disgraceful treatment of Bentham.

Work on Descent and Coral reefs stops his doing anything of real interest.

Asa Gray’s letter. CD has acknowledged the honour [honorary membership in the Boston Soc. Nat. Hist.].

"What a demon on earth Owen is. I do hate him."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  4 Mar [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 313–16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9333

From J. D. Hooker   24 March 1874



"Half an answer" to CD’s query on visit of Sphinx to Hedychium gardnerianum.

Business affairs and family ill health keep him busy.

G. J. Allman will succeed Bentham as President of Linnean Society. Busk has refused.

Huxley is well.

JDH has indoctrinated Sir Stafford Northcote with his merits.

Lyell frail.

Old J. E. Gray goes on publishing.

"Is not [Thomas] Belt splendid!"

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Mar 1874
Classmark:  DAR 103: 195–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9371

To J. D. Hooker   25 March [1874]



Thanks for information about Hedychium. Hopes wings of Sphinx will be found covered with pollen for that will be a fine bit of prophecy from the structure of a flower to special and new means of fertilisation.

Has been at Descent so hard he has done nothing, not even H. Spencer’s answer.

Has not yet read Croll ["Ocean currents", London Edinburgh & Dublin Philos. Mag. 47 (1874): 94–122, 168–90].

Has heard nothing about Carter and Eozoon. Eozoon, he infers, is done for.

Has read Belt [The naturalist in Nicaragua (1874)]: best of all natural history travel books.

Has written to Fritz Müller about leaf-carrying ants.

Hopes to resume work on Drosera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 Mar [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 317–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9372

To J. D. Hooker   27 [March 1874]



Etty [Henrietta Litchfield] is helping with Coral reefs [2d ed.]; will JDH lend her his copy?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  27 [Mar 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 320
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9373
Document type