skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin Francis" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, Francis in author disabled_by_default
130 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Francis Darwin to Lawson Tait   22 July [1875]


CD sends words that he is too busy to work on the Drosera RLT has sent. CD also regrets that the fluid on virgin pitchers of Nepenthes was not tested with white of egg. Until that is done, he doubts whether physiologists would admit the presence of the ferment.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  22 July [1875]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10087

From Francis Darwin to Horace Pearce   24 November 1876


Explains how they look after Drosera plants.

Encloses his father’s autograph.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Pearce
Date:  24 Nov 1876
Classmark:  Bonhams (dealers) (27 May 2007, lot 590)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10687F

From Francis Darwin to the Auckland Star   4 January 1877


His father is grateful for the account of the alleged discovery of men with tails.

His father does not believe in their existence of the tailed men, although the tails may be an inherited monstrosity.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Auckland Star
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Auckland Star, 1 March 1877, p. 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770F

From Francis Darwin to Anton Stecker   17 March 1878


Sends father’s regrets that CD will not be able to help Stecker as appointments are few in number and much sought after.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Anton Stecker
Date:  17 Mar 1878
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11429F

From Francis Darwin to ?   23 August 1878


Writes for CD. Thanks correspondent for curious case of inheritance, which CD cannot use as he is working in different directions.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  23 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (GEN MSS MISC Group 104 F-1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11672

From Francis Darwin to Clarke Hawkshaw   [before 18 April 1878]


FD reports that CD thinks CH’s observations on limpets worth publishing (Hawkshaw 1878).

Marlborough Robert Pryor of Weston Park, Stevenage, is an admirable naturalist, especially concerning limpets.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  John Clarke (Clarke) Hawkshaw
Date:  [before 18 Apr 1878]
Classmark:  Bonhams (dealers) (27 March 2019, lot 160)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11711F

From Francis Darwin to Ernst Krause   23 October 1879


CD thanks Krause for the errata.

CD is sorry to hear that Krause’s part will not appear in the French edition, and cannot believe that C.-F. Reinwald would be influenced by antagonism to the Germans. Reinwald always gives CD a small percentage on sales, and CD had intended to pass it on to EK.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  23 Oct 1879
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36217)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12268H

From Francis Darwin to Ernst Krause   [29 October 1879]


Encloses a letter from CD to C.-F. Reinwald for EK to read, and if he approves, to send on.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  [29 Oct 1879]
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36218)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12275F

From Francis Darwin to Édouard Heckel   26 November 1880


Indications on the movement of flowers.

It is not customary to recommend someone for membership of the Royal Society.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Édouard Marie (Édouard) Heckel
Date:  26 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Aguttes (dealers) An Aristophil sale (17 November 2019, lot 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12860F

From Francis Darwin to Ernst Krause   [after 10 February 1881]


CD thanks him for his congratulations and for details of letters, which he will keep with the Butlerian documents.

FD is happy for his lecture to be republished in Kosmos.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  [after 10 Feb 1881]
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36219)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13048F

From Francis Darwin to George King   [after 21 November 1881]


CD asks him to say that the beautiful specimens of Dischidia arrived safely.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  George King
Date:  [after 21 Nov 1881]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 113b
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13501F

From Francis Darwin to Raphael Meldola   12 January 1882


CD happy to lend Weismann’s pamphlet to RM.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Raphael Meldola
Date:  12 Jan 1882
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350: Hope/Westwood Archive, Darwin folder)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13611

From Francis Darwin to Alphonse de Candolle   24 January [1881]


FD and CD have been interested in AdeC’s diagram for illustrating inheritance. The difficulty of estimating different qualities in oneself and others is very great. Encloses a diagram illustrating how FD compares himself with his parents. CD has filled in a comparison with his father. It shows he resembles his father more than FD resembles CD. [The qualities compared are: stature, hair, eyes, pulse, musical capacity, ability to draw, tendency toward biological sciences, tendency toward mathematical sciences, perseverence, memory, aptitude for foreign languages.]

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  24 Jan [1881]
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13642

From Francis Darwin to Lawson Tait   [30 March 1882]


CD will be glad to keep the proof of the medal.

He is decidedly better again.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  [30 Mar 1882]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13749

From Francis Darwin to Daniel Oliver   [after 6 January 1875]


Asks DO to return enclosed post-card with locality of Genlisea aurea specimen that DO had sent.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  [after 6 Jan 1875]
Classmark:  Newcastle University Special Collections (Spence Watson/Weiss Archive GB186 SW/6/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9803F

From Francis Darwin   [after 3 June 1875]


Returns corrected proofs [of Insectivorous plants].

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 3 June 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10007F

From Francis Darwin   [1 September 1875 or later]


Proofs have come. It will be jolly coming down to Southampton.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Sept 1875 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10153F

From Francis Darwin   [15–18 September 1873]


FD has asked J. B. Sanderson about Mucin.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [15–18 Sept 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10156F

From Francis Darwin   [before 8 December 1875]


Sends Linnean papers.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 8 Dec 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10287F

From Francis Darwin   [after 2 December 1875]


Sends thanks for CD’s help in making him a Fellow of the Linnean Society. Dyer has sent some Erinem.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 2 Dec 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10287G
Document type
letter (130)
1859 (1)
1868 (1)
1869 (1)
1870 (5)
1871 (6)
1872 (4)
1873 (13)
1874 (1)
1875 (10)
1876 (14)
1877 (13)
1878 (24)
1879 (14)
1880 (6)
1881 (14)
1882 (3)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next