skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin Francis" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1877 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, Francis in author disabled_by_default
13 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Francis Darwin to the Auckland Star   4 January 1877


His father is grateful for the account of the alleged discovery of men with tails.

His father does not believe in their existence of the tailed men, although the tails may be an inherited monstrosity.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Auckland Star
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Auckland Star, 1 March 1877, p. 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770F

From Francis Darwin   [before 21 May 1877]


Edwin Ray Lankester wants to reprint FD’s paper ‘Food bodies’ in the Quarterly Journal of Microscopical Science.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 21 May 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 22
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10520F

From Francis Darwin   [14 June? 1877]


Forwards letters.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 June? 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10762F

From Francis Darwin to G. N. de Stoppelaar    25 April 1877


Sends thanks for diploma on CD’s behalf.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Gerardus Nicolaas de Stoppelaar
Date:  25 Apr 1877
Classmark:  Zeeuws Archief (Koninklijk Zeeuwsch Genootschap der Wetenschappen)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10940F

From Francis Darwin to G. J. Romanes   7 June 1877


CD is going away and has asked FD to thank GJR for his amusing letter [of 6 June], which CD thinks should be published in Nature. CD thinks the guinea pig theory very probable.

CD thinks there may be something in the ‘veneration’ theory.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  7 June 1877
Classmark:  Bodleian Libraries, Oxford (MS. Eng. d. 3823, fols. 154–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10989F

From Francis Darwin   11 June 1877


Lists the tasks he has completed; sends on letter from Romanes; news of Bernard.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10994F

From Francis Darwin to P. P. C. Hoek   [c. 24 June 1877]


CD has written to [Charles] Wyville Thomson in favour of PPCH’s request [for duplicates of Pycnogonida collected by the Challenger expedition], and hopes it will be successful.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Paulus Peronius Cato Hoek
Date:  [c. 24 June 1877]
Classmark:  Artis Library (P. P. C. Hoek Archive: Darwin correspondence)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11014F

From Francis Darwin to W. M. Moorsom   29 October 1877


His father thanks WMM for his letter about the elephant case [see 11214]. If the story is true, CD thinks that the fruit must contain some alkaloid such as that in Indian hemp.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Warren Maude Moorsom
Date:  29 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 146: 385b
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11216A

From Francis Darwin to T. F. Cheeseman   12 December 1877


Writes for CD, thanking TFC for his pamphlet on Selliera. CD was so interested that he ventured to forward it to Nature for publication.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Frederick Cheeseman
Date:  12 Dec 1877
Classmark:  Auckland War Memorial Museum Library Tāmaki Paenga Hira (T. F. Cheeseman Papers MS 58)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11277

From Francis Darwin   [28 October 1877?]


FD has sent proofs; nutating of Ricinus; Horace Darwin and the wormograph.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Oct 1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 45
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11302F

From Francis Darwin to Thomas Edison   [20–9 December 1877]


His father asks him to thank TAE for sending the curious case of the insects [see 11271].

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Alva Edison
Date:  [20–9 Dec 1877]
Classmark:  Thomas Edison National Park (Edison Document File, 1878 Folder: (D-78-02) Edison, T.A. – General)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11312A

From Charles and Francis Darwin to G. J. Romanes   2 January [1877]


Agrees to propose GJR for membership in Royal Society.

Remarks on GJR’s paper on Medusae [Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. 167 (1877): 659–752].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; Francis Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  2 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.503)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10765

From Charles and Francis Darwin to G. J. Romanes   5 December 1877


Discusses planting onions for experiment.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; Francis Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  5 Dec 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.527)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11270