skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
1868::03::06 in date disabled_by_default
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Jonathan Peel   6 March [1868]


Obliged for JP’s account of sheep. Such articles would make naturalists think more of natural selection.

E. A. Darwin’s health bad.

Asks about sex ratio in sheep births.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jonathan Peel
Date:  6 Mar [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Surrogate RP 8059)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5983

To J. J. Weir   [6 March 1868]


Discusses beaks and relative numbers of the sexes of goldfinches.

Comments on sexual selection among butterflies.

Mentions Kerguelen moth collected by Hooker.

Comments on JJW’s observations on coloured birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  [6 Mar 1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.348)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5986

To William Ogle   6 March [1868]


Wishes he had known of the views of Hippocrates, which are almost identical to his Pangenesis hypothesis. CD advances it as provisional, but secretly expects some such view will have to be admitted.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  6 Mar [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 2 (EH: 88205900)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5987

From John Murray   6 March [1868]


JM sends note for £420.

Asks CD to use his good offices on behalf of William Clowes’s son who is up for election to Athenaeum.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Mar [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 358
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5988

To John Murray   6 March 1868


Acknowledges receipt of bill for £420.

Will try to attend Athenaeum meeting to help elect Clowes’s son.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  6 Mar 1868
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42153 ff. 37–38)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5989

From J. J. Moulinié   6 March [1868]


First volume of Variation in French has been printed. Second volume has been translated. CD’s additions to chapter 11 arrived in time.

Author:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Mar [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 270
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5990