skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1847::07 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. D. Hooker   15 [July 1847]



Must look after his wife, so is unable to come to visit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 [July 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1080

To J. D. Hooker   [19 July 1847]



Congratulations on JDH’s engagement.

Sorry JDH is so determined on an expedition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [19 July 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1101

To Bernhard Studer   4 July [1847]


Glad BS intends to visit England. Fears there will be few geologists in London in August. Would be truly glad to see BS at Down, but cannot offer much geological information respecting England.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bernhard Studer
Date:  4 July [1847]
Classmark:  Burgerbibliothek Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1102

To Henry Denny   21 July [1847]


Regrets not seeing HD at Oxford meeting [of BAAS].

He may keep duplicates of parasitic insects from CD’s collection. Lyell has collected Pediculi for HD from Negroes in North America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Denny
Date:  21 July [1847]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 383
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1103

To J. D. Hooker   28 July [1847]



Cannot come to Hitcham as he is anticipating a visit from Bernhard Studer of Bern.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  28 July [1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 99
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1104
Document type
letter (5)
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default