skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1873::07 in date disabled_by_default
41 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   18 July [1873?]


Comments on ability of recipient to move his scalp.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  18 July [1873?]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.430)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8982

To Nature   [before 24 July 1873]


Sends a letter from J. D. Hague confirming his earlier observation [see 8788] of frightened behaviour of ants when they come upon dead ants. CD had asked for confirmation because J. T. Moggridge had suggested that the ants’ behaviour was alarm at the scent of the observer’s fingers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  [before 24 July 1873]
Classmark:  Nature, 24 July 1873, p. 244
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8985

From Armand de Quatrefages   8 July 1873


CD’s nomination to French Academy fails again.

Author:  Jean Louis Armand (Armand de Quatrefages) Quatrefages de Bréau
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 175: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11041

From J. B. Dunbar-Brander   [before 9 July 1873]



Offers different explanations [from CD’s in Expression] for movements of dogs after voiding, and for their turning around before lying down.

CD is also wrong in saying hares do not cry except when they suffer.

Author:  James Brander Dunbar-Brander
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 9 July 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 279
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8711

From Gerard Krefft   [after 12 July 1873]


JLGK’s public advocacy of Darwinism brings him into numerous arguments.

Author:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 12 July 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 169: 114
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8959

To J. D. Hooker   1 July [1873]


Agrees with JDH on G. J. Allman’s work. Approves of JDH’s text proposing GJA for Royal Medal.

Will be proud to see General Richard Strachey at Down – a truly great man.

Specimens of Drosera are waiting to be examined.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  1 July [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 265–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8960

From Hermann Müller   1 July 1873



Sends a note on R. Caspary’s observations of Corydalis self-fertilisation [see Cross and self-fertilisation, p. 331].

Has begun his experiments on the self- and cross-fertilised flowers.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 76: B184
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8961

To Friedrich Max Müller   3 July 1873


Thanks FMM for his "Lectures [on Mr Darwin’s philosophy of language", Fraser’s Mag. n.s. 7 (1873): 525–41, 659–78].

CD is not worthy to be FMM’s adversary as he knows very little about language and, being fully convinced man is descended from some lower animal, he is forced to believe a priori that language has developed from inarticulate cries.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Max Müller
Date:  3 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 146: 425
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8962

From J. E. Boehm   4 July 1873



Reports cases from his family of inheritance of turning in sleep, sleep-walking at full moon, and eyes giving out red light at early age.

Author:  Joseph Edgar Boehm, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 235
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8964

To C. H. Blackley   5 July [1873]


Comments on CHB’s book [Experimental researches on catarrhus aestivus – hay-fever or hay-asthma (1873)].

Explains that some pollens are wind-blown while others depend on insects for dispersal. Effect of pollen on skin and mucous membrane astonishing. Sends a book [M. Wyman, Autumnal catarrh (1872)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Harrison Blackley
Date:  5 July [1873]
Classmark:  John Hay Library, Brown University (Albert E. Lownes Manuscript Collection, Ms.84.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8965

To George King   6 July 1873


Thanks for specimens and information about worm-castings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George King
Date:  6 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 146: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8966

From C. H. Blackley   7 July 1873



Thanks for copy of Wyman’s book.

His own recent researches [on pollen] at high altitudes were inspired by CD’s account in Journal of researches of distances dust may travel.

Author:  Charles Harrison Blackley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 192
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8967

From John Farr   7 July 1873



Would like a photograph of CD.

Author:  John Farr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 164: 27
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8968

From G. H. Darwin   8 July 1873



Corrects chemical concentrations CD has been using [in insectivorous plant experimentation].

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 55: 160–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8969

To A. R. Wallace   9 July [1873]


Forwards photograph, sent by [J. L. G.] Krefft, of a chrysalis attached to its food-plant; the chrysalis has adjusted its colour remarkably.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  9 July [1873]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350 Box 1 Wallace MSS)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8970

From Bushell Anningson   9 July 1873



Comments on the form and function of a muscle in the rectal region of animals.

Discusses the scratching action of dogs.

Author:  Bushell Anningson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 159: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8971

To Armand de Quatrefages   9 July [1873]


Thanks correspondent for his kind and generous exertions [to get CD elected to French Academy?].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Louis Armand (Armand de Quatrefages) Quatrefages de Bréau
Date:  9 July [1873]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.409)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8972

From John Farr   10 July 1873



Thanks for photograph.

Author:  John Farr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 164: 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8973

From C. H. Blackley   11 July 1873



Thanks for suggestion to try effect of dry heat on pollen and for other new information on pollen. Will begin new experiments soon, hoping to cure hay-fever.

Author:  Charles Harrison Blackley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 193
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8974

To Gerard Krefft   12 July [1873]


Thanks JLGK for photos of natives of Queensland.

Asks if he can observe whether worms throw up castings in wet weather.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Date:  12 July [1873]
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (MLMSS 5828)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8975
Document type
01 (2)
03 (1)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (2)
08 (2)
09 (4)
10 (1)
11 (1)
12 (5)
15 (3)
16 (2)
17 (1)
18 (2)
19 (1)
21 (1)
22 (1)
24 (3)
25 (1)
28 (2)
30 (1)
31 (2)
Page: 1 2 3  Next