skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1869 in date disabled_by_default
514 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   2 May [1869 or later]


"When a man has laboured hard in science & has proved that he is capable of original research, he may [some]times indulge in speculation [&] the public will indulge him. But even in this case it is a common error to speculate too largely, for speculation is far easier than observation or experiments . . ."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  2 May [1869-82]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (28 March 1983)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13866A

To ?   6 April [1869–71]


"My experiment was intended solely to show that colour reappeared, and I choose kinds which breed [true] to colour, as is certainly the case with [sports] and those which I tried . . .

I have recorded an undoubted case of wild rock Pigeons caught in Scotland having bred in confinement …"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  6 Apr [1869-71]
Classmark:  L’Autographe (dealers) (Catalogue 21)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6098A

To ?   20 February [1869]


Gives his opinion of Rolla Charles Meadows Rouse, who is tutoring Horace Darwin in mathematics.

Has not heard that Horace has a chance of a minor scholarship.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  20 Feb [1869]
Classmark:  Xiling Yinshe Auction Company (dealers) (Spring 2014, lot 188)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6624F

To the Athenæum   19 June 1869


Thanks correspondent, "Ponderer", for pointing out his erroneous calculation of the rate of increase of elephants in Origin [p. 64]. [!?or p. 74!? (see 6775f), or 75, (see 6790)]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  19 June 1869
Classmark:  Athenæum, 26 June 1869, p. 861
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6787

To ?   23 June 1869


[A quotation in CD’s hand, signed and dated, from the introduction to Orchids.] "I have never once expressed a wish for aid or for information, which has not been granted, as far as possible, in the most liberal spirit."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  23 June 1869
Classmark:  The Morgan Library and Museum, New York (Heineman Collection MA 6512)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6795

To the Athenæum   7 [July] 1869


Because readers have arrived at different answers to the problem of the rate of increase of elephants, CD offers a rule, used by his son George, for calculating the product for any number of generations.

[Letter erroneously dated June.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  7 [July] 1869
Classmark:  Athenæum, 17 July 1869, p. 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6820

To [?]   21 September [1869]


Thanks correspondent for sending curious facts about his cats.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  21 Sept [1869]
Classmark:  National Library of Australia (MS 760/2/571)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6952

To ?   30 October [1869 or 1870]


Comments on a case of crossing distant plants of Habenaria

and on hermaphroditism in hybrid plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  30 Oct [1869-70]
Classmark:  King Edward VI High School, Stafford
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6961A

To Francis Henry Salvin?   31 October 1869


Thanks correspondent for sending extracts about the jackal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  31 Oct 1869
Classmark:  McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6962

To Nature   13 November [1869]


Comments on A. W. Bennett’s letter [Nature 1 (1869): 58] on fertilisation of winter-flowering plants. CD used net, not a bell-glass to cover Lamium.

Refers to F. Delpino’s observations on fertilisation of grasses; CD is glad to say these observations are compatible with "the very general law that distinct individual plants must be occasionally crossed".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  13 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  Nature 1 (1869): 85
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6987

To ?   13 December [1869]


Has given the right of translation [of Descent] to Julius Victor Carus of Leipzig, so the recipient should inform Alexander Duncker to communicate with JVC.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  13 Dec [1869]
Classmark:  The National Library of Israel (Abraham Schwadron collection, Schwad 03 04 07)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7028F

To William Bowman   16 May [1869–81]


"I shall not be in London on Monday, but I have written to my Brother to ask him to aid you"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bowman, 1st baronet
Date:  16 May [1869-81]
Classmark:  George Houle Autographs (dealer) (Catalogue 61, March 1992)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13781

To Adolph Reuter   24 July [1869]


Thanks for facts on inheritance. May be used if CD corrects 3d ed. [2d ed.] of Variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adolf Reuter
Date:  24 July [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 297
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13837

To Richard Kippist   31 January [1869?]


"You are most perfectly welcome to Fragmenta [F. J. H. von Mueller Fragmenta phytographiae Australiae (1858–64)], & I shall be delighted if they are of the slightest use to you."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Kippist
Date:  31 Jan [1869?]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (pasted in Mueller 1858–82, vol. 1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3426A

To Benjamin Dann Walsh   3 April [1869]


Glad BDW has proved his case on dimorphism of Cynips.

Interested in galls

and BDW’s Cicada articles [Proc. Entomol. Soc. Philadelphia (1864)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  3 Apr [1869]
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Walsh 17)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5482

From J. D. Hooker   14 [January] 1869


Oliver overlooked CD’s request about rutaceous flowers. Of precisely which points about the ovules does CD want illustrations?

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 [Jan] 1869
Classmark:  DAR 48: A78, DAR 103: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5729

To George Howard Darwin   6 February [1869]



John Lubbock regrets GHD did not take the Eton post. JL thinks scientific masters will soon occupy places as high and as profitable as classical masters.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  6 Feb [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5843

To Charles Lyell   [3 November 1869]


Takes "much to heart" solar evidence for short age of the earth. Cites evidence for "long endurance of our existing continents". Comments on process of denudation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [3 Nov 1869]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.346)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5974

From W. W. Reade   28 June [1869]



Horned rams of Guinea sheep.

CD’s queries about expression are too difficult for him to answer.

Author:  William Winwood Reade
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 June [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 86: A32–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6260

To Scientific Opinion   [before 20 October 1869]


Replies to F. Delpino’s criticisms of Pangenesis [Sci. Opin. 2 (1869): 365–7, 391–3, 407–8], especially concerning the difficulty of explaining the regrowth of amputated organs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Scientific Opinion
Date:  [before 20 Oct 1869]
Classmark:  Scientific Opinion 2 (1869): 426.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6442
Document type
01 (50)
02 (50)
03 (53)
04 (38)
05 (42)
06 (39)
07 (43)
08 (29)
09 (46)
10 (46)
11 (56)
12 (22)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next