skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1840 in date disabled_by_default
53 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3

To the Geological Society of London   18 November [1840]


Recommends that Consul Chatfield’s communication on an earthquake in San Salvador [read 5 Feb 1840; Proc. Geol. Soc. Lond. 3 (1840): 179] not be published in Transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  18 Nov [1840]
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/COM/P/4/2/35)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-580

To G. N. Smith   20 November [1840]


Sorry that ill health prevented sooner reply. Letter about caves at Caldy was already read by Buckland. Will examine birds’ beaks when better and present to Geological Society of London in Smith’s name.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gilbert Nicholas Smith
Date:  20 Nov [1840]
Classmark:  Angus Carroll (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-580F

To G. R. Gray   [20 November – 11 December 1840]


Thanks GRG for his gift [A list of the genera of birds (1840)] and trusts that now GRG will be able to finish John Gould’s MS for Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Gray
Date:  [20 Nov – 11 Dec 1840]
Classmark:  The British Library (Egerton MS 2348: 237–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-581

From J. S. Henslow   21 November 1840


Reports on abortive anthers in flowers of thyme sent by CD.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Nov 1840
Classmark:  DAR 109: A86
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-582

To A. Y. Spearman   22 November 1840


The second number of part four of the Zoology has now been published. The account of Smith, Elder & Co. is presented.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman, 1st baronet
Date:  22 Nov 1840
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-582A

To M. J. Berkeley   [26 November 1840]


Remarks that each of two species of Fagus separated by 1000 miles has a fungus that grows on it; the fungus species are probably closely allied.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Miles Joseph Berkeley
Date:  [26 Nov 1840]
Classmark:  Shropshire Archives (SA 6001/134/39)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-583

To W. A. Leighton   1 December 1840


Acknowledges election as Honorary Member of Shropshire and North Wales Natural History and Antiquarian Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Allport Leighton
Date:  1 Dec 1840
Classmark:  Shropshire Archives (SA 6001/133/57)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-584

To W. C. Redfield   [22 December 1840]


Illness has long delayed CD’s thanks for WCR’s meteorological pamphlets and geological reports. Mentions a reference to whirlwinds leaving rotary patterns in desert sand.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William C. Redfield
Date:  [22 Dec 1840]
Classmark:  Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Letters to William C. Redfield vol. 2 Scientific 1831-41(z117 00151 2) pp. 335–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-585

To William Buckland   [November 1840 – 17 February 1841]


He encloses an unidentified paper received from R. I. Murchison the previous day.

Is unable to provide information about Dr Du Gard.

Appreciates the maps of Glen Roy sent by WB. Would welcome the opinions of WB and Louis Agassiz concerning the parallel roads but cannot give up the idea of their marine origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Buckland
Date:  [Nov 1840 – 17 Feb 1841]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Buckland papers, Glaciation /4 (iv))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-641A

To Leonard Jenyns   [27 February 1840]


Has been unwell. Publication of two numbers [of Zoology] has been delayed. Thought first Fish number good.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  [27 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-558

To Leonard Jenyns   5 April [1840]


Health is improved, but would do anything to get strong again. Is consulting his father; will return to London soon to see B. W. Hawkins.

Will send MS [of Fish, no. 2] to the printer, and be there when LJ comes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  5 Apr [1840]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-563

To Emma Darwin   [5 April 1840]



An amusing description of his railway journey to Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [5 Apr 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-564

To John Washington, Secretary, Royal Geographical Society   16 May 1840


Has much pleasure "in accepting the honour of being proposed as a member of the Council of the Geographical Society".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Washington; Royal Geographical Society
Date:  16 May 1840
Classmark:  Royal Geographical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-568
Page: Prev  1 2 3