skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1840 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
53 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   [2 June? 1840]


Can give no information on the separation of the sexes in the guanaco.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [2 June? 1840]
Classmark:  The British Library (Charnwood Autographs Vol. IV Add MS 70951: 315)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-570F

From J. G. Malcolmson   2 January 1840


Discusses CD’s Glen Roy paper; would like to see the theory put beyond dispute. Tells of Mr Stables’ observations on the parallel roads. Discusses geological features of Scotland which he is sure are marine in origin.

Author:  John Grant Malcolmson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1840
Classmark:  DAR 171: 31; Geological Society of London (Membership certificates, 1840)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1147

To [W. A. Leighton?]   [1840–77?]


Valediction only of a letter stuck into a writing case.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Allport Leighton
Date:  [1840–77?]
Classmark:  Estate of the late Mr D. Evans (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13770H

To William Walton   [1840–2]


Comments on the quality of the meat of the guanaco.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walton
Date:  [1840–2]
Classmark:  Walton 1844, pp. 43–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548A

To William Walton   [1840–2]


Describes the range of conditions under which the guanaco thrives and the ease with which it can be tamed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walton
Date:  [1840–2]
Classmark:  Walton 1844, pp. 50–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548B

To John Edward Gray    1 January [1840]


Testimonial in behalf of JEG’s application for the position of keeper of the zoological department of the British Museum from which John George Children was about to resign.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  1 Jan [1840]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (General Library, J. E. Gray Miscellaneous papers vol. 1: f.118)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548C

To T. C. Eyton   [6 January 1840]


Has been unwell.

Thanks TCE for his descriptions [of specimens for Birds]. Has already expended a high proportion of Government grant on birds, but if TCE thinks engravings are needed, he shall have them. He may keep the bones.

CD has become a father.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Date:  [6 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-549

To Basil Hall   [7 January 1840]


CD regrets inconvenience caused by his having Royal Geographical Society’s copy of Krusenstern’s Atlas [de l’océan Pacifique (1824–7)]. Locates Sulphur Island from it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Basil Hall
Date:  [7 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-550

To A. Y. Spearman   16 January 1840


Presents the Smith, Elder & Co. account for the first number of the fourth part (now published) of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman, 1st baronet
Date:  16 Jan 1840
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-550A

To the Geological Society of London   22 January 1840


W. B. Clarke’s paper on ashes falling at sea off Cape Verde Islands [Proc. Geol. Soc. Lond. 3 (1839): 145–6] need not be published in Transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  22 Jan 1840
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/COM/P/4/2/38)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-551

To J. S. Henslow   [24 January 1840]



Sends specimens from Indian Ocean atolls.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [24 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A3–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-552

To Mr Folthorp of Smith, Elder & Co.   [6 February 1840]


Sends MS [of Coral reefs?] to be copied.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Smith, Elder & Co
Date:  [6 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-553

To Charles Lyell   [19 February 1840]


Remarks on his illness and treatment.

Discusses MS [of Coral reefs] and changes in his view of coral reefs since Journal of researches. Mentions C. G. Ehrenberg’s observations on coral reefs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [19 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.21)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-554

To Robert FitzRoy   [20 February 1840]


Poor health has made him give up all geological work.

Profits on their volumes [of Narrative] seem absurdly small.

Looks back on Beagle voyage as the most fortunate circumstance in his life.

Finds marriage a great happiness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert FitzRoy
Date:  [20 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-555

To W. C. Redfield   24 February [1840]


Much interested in WCR’s paper on "Whirlwinds excited by fire" [Am. J. Sci. 36 (1839): 50–9; Edinburgh New Philos. J. 27 (1839): 369–79].

Sends a summary account of circular clouds and waterspouts formed during volcanic eruption in the Azores [S. Tillard, "Eruption of a volcano in sea off St Michael", Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. (1812): 152–8].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William C. Redfield
Date:  24 Feb [1840]
Classmark:  Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Letters to William C. Redfield vol. 2 Scientific 1831-41 (z117 00151 2) pp. 335–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-556

To Richard Owen   24 [February 1840]


Asks RO whether he has any MS [of Fossil Mammalia, no. 4] ready and to see that the plates are finished.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  24 [Feb 1840]
Classmark:  The Royal College of Surgeons of England (MS0025/1/5/11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-557

To Benjamin Silliman   26 February 1840


Asks that a letter on tornados be forwarded to W. C. Redfield. Hopes Silliman received a copy of Journal of Researches.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Silliman, Sr
Date:  26 Feb 1840
Classmark:  Gallery of History (4 December 1996)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-557F

To Basil Hall   15 March 1840


Discussion of the geology of Coquimbo, Chile.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Basil Hall
Date:  15 Mar 1840
Classmark:  Musée royal de Mariemont, Belgium (Aut. 1061/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-558F

To Richard Owen   [March? 1840]


Sends a proof title page and asks RO to send a list of plates and contents [of Fossil mammalia] to the printer, Mr Stewart.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [Mar? 1840]
Classmark:  Christie’s, New York (dealers) (29 October 1993)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-559F

To David Milne   20 [February 1840]


About earthquakes: the shock of February 1835 in Chile; possible connection between shocks occurring coincidentally in different parts of the world, and between earthquakes and the weather; DM’s collection of accounts of earthquakes in Scotland.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  David Milne Home
Date:  20 [Feb 1840]
Classmark:  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Charles E. Mudie Collection, 1816–1897: Correspondence Post-1650 MS 0112)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-560
Document type
01 (10)
02 (9)
03 (5)
04 (3)
05 (8)
06 (3)
07 (2)
08 (1)
11 (9)
12 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next