skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
1868::12 in date disabled_by_default
13 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. B. Innes   1 December 1868



Problems with Mr Robinson, who has suddenly departed for Ireland for a month. The parish urgently needs some respectable man to hold the living permanently.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  1 Dec 1868
Classmark:  DAR 96: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6486

To J. D. Hooker   2 December 1868


Enthusiastic about JDH’s plan for a British Flora – "a grand idea to make a Flora a guide for knowledge already acquired & to be acquired". Gives examples of subjects.

No work exists on various biological points in plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  2 Dec 1868
Classmark:  DAR 94: 102–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6487

To James Croll   4 December [1868]


Acknowledges receipt of book and manuscript.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Croll
Date:  4 Dec [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6491

To Frederick Behrens   6 December 1868


Sends his autograph.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick Behrens
Date:  6 Dec 1868
Classmark:  Josh B. Rosenblum (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6492F

To G. H. Darwin   [9 December 1868]



Asks GHD to look in William Thomson’s book [W. Thomson and P. G. Tait, Treatise on natural philosophy, vol. 1 (1867)] to see how many million years ago Thomson says earth’s crust solidified. CD is troubled by "brevity of the world", because pre-Silurian creatures must have lived during endless ages "else my views wd be wrong, which is impossible – Q.E.D.".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [9 Dec 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6496

To J. B. Innes   10 December [1868]


Does not think the supposed cow–deer hybrid worth investigating.

John Robinson [the curate at Down] reported to be walking with girls at night.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  10 Dec [1868]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6497

To W. D. Fox   12 December [1868]


Thanks WDF for information about sheep and cattle.

Mentions corrections for new edition of Origin [5th ed. (1869)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  12 Dec [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.357)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6500

To J. B. Innes   16 December 1868


Has received JBI’s two letters; agrees with him, but does not know what to do about [the alleged misconduct of] John Robinson. Reports in a long postscript on vain efforts to confirm rumours. Suggests JBI come to Down to see how affairs stand.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  16 Dec 1868
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6505

To J. N. Hegt   18 December 1868


Thanks for information about the spurs in the young of Pavo muticus and Pavo cristatus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  J. Noordhoek Hegt
Date:  18 Dec 1868
Classmark:  Stadsarchief Amsterdam (395: 614)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6507F

To Ernst Haeckel   20 December 1868


Concerning death of August Schleicher.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  20 Dec 1868
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1: 1–52/21)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6509

To J. D. Hooker   25 December [1868]


Is working on new edition of Origin [5th (1869)].

Asks JDH’s assistance on a problem posed by Nägeli on morphological differences that are of no utility to plants and hence could not be selected. CD wants to show that these differences do not support the idea of progressive development as Nägeli suggests.

Owen pitches into CD and Lyell in third volume of Anatomy of vertebrates [1866–8].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 Dec [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 105–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6512

To G. H. K. Thwaites   29 December 1868


Discusses experiments in breeding fowls.

Comments on letter from S. O. Glenie [see 6440] concerning the eyes of trumpeting elephants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Date:  29 Dec 1868
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.358)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6514

To J. D. Hooker   29 December 1868


JDH’s letter invaluable for an answer to Nägeli’s essay [Entstehung und Begriff der Naturhistorischen Art (1865)].

Has gone through his index to Gardeners’ Chronicle but finds little of use to JDH for his Flora.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  29 Dec 1868
Classmark:  DAR 94: 108—9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6515
Document type
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
01 (1)
02 (1)
04 (1)
06 (1)
09 (1)
10 (1)
12 (1)
16 (1)
18 (1)
20 (1)
25 (1)
29 (2)