skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1856 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
258 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   9 October [1856]

Summary

Thanks for offer of Helix for experiment. Asks for assistance. Mentions failure of his own experiment involving Helix pomatia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  9 Oct [1856]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1972

To Librarian, Royal Society of London   27 October [1856]

Summary

Orders Andrew Knight’s paper ["An account of some experiments on the fecundation of vegetables", Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. (1799): 195–204] and J. E. Gray’s book [Gleanings from the menagerie and aviary at Knowsley Hall (1846)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Royal Society of London
Date:  27 Oct [1856]
Classmark:  University of Michigan Library, Special Collections Research Center (Science and Philosophy Collection, gift of J. Christian Bay)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1013

To John Murray   17 November [1856–7]

Summary

Asks JM for four copies of his Journal of researches [2d ed.] at wholesale price. Also asks for total number of copies sold.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  17 Nov [1856-7]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42153 ff.62–63)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1026

From John Higgins   17 November 1856

Summary

Mr Hardy, CD’s tenant at Beesby, has spent £105 on improvements to the farm. JH suggests different ways of recompensing the tenant, and asks for CD’s decision.

Author:  John Higgins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Nov 1856
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/98)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1026F

To John Murray   20 November [1856–7]

Summary

Thanks for gift [of books requested in 1026]. Sale is a good deal more than he had anticipated.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  20 Nov [1856-7]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42153 ff.54–55)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1028

From W. D. Fox   19 December [1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Informs CD that in his experience with peas he has never found the seed to deteriorate.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Dec [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 77: 170
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11799

To R. H. Bakewell   30 April [1856–68]

Summary

Thanks for case of inherited malconformation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Hall Bakewell
Date:  30 Apr [1856-68]
Classmark:  Christie’s, London (dealers) (4 June 2008)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13770F

To E. W. V. Harcourt   19 August [1856]

Summary

Asks to borrow C. L. Brehm’s book [Handbuch der Naturgeschichte aller Vögel Deutschlands (1831)]. Wants to see how far Brehm went in splitting species.

Took finches from Madeira to British Museum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward William Vernon Harcourt
Date:  19 Aug [1856]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1451

To C. J. F. Bunbury   [before 9 May 1856]

Summary

Adds comments to a list of Cape of Good Hope plants which are also European and gives some additions to the list [see Natural selection, p. 552].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles James Fox Bunbury, 8th baronet
Date:  [before 9 May 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 73: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1617

To John Lubbock   [29 July 1856]

Summary

Regrets he cannot help JL; the point [unspecified] was always a trouble to CD also.

Has been to a poultry show.

Asks for the return of a lens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [29 July 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 13 (EH 88206462)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1620

From J. D. Hooker   [16 November 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

JDH not happy with CD’s explanation of the absence of north temperate forms in the Southern Hemisphere, given his explanation for the spread of sub-arctic forms to the south. [CD’s note is in response to JDH’s criticism.]

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [16 Nov 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 100: 162–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1622

From George Gulliver   20 January [1856]

Summary

Discusses the similarity in size, shape, and structure of the blood corpuscles of the Aves. Notes differences between the corpuscles of the domestic dog and some wild species.

Author:  George Gulliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Jan [1856]
Classmark:  DAR (CD library – Gulliver, George 1846)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1632

From W. D. Fox   8 March [1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Is trying to procure some cocks for CD.

Believes Scotch deerhounds are mongrels.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Mar [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 174
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1646

To W. B. D. Mantell   10 April [1856]

Summary

Thanks WBDM for his reply [missing] to CD’s previous letter [1603].

Asks for more details on the erratic blocks.

Asks also if there is good evidence that there formerly existed [in New Zealand] some animal with hair, like an otter or beaver.

Finally, do the uncivilised natives have the same ideal of [human] beauty as Europeans?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell
Date:  10 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-0083-268)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1663

To William Erasmus Darwin   [26 February 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Writes of WED’s progress at school and events at home.

Discusses pigeons, with which he is "getting on splendidly".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [26 Feb 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1804

From Thomas Vernon Wollaston   [February 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Sends Madeira specimens, including frogs recently introduced into the island, and flourishing.

Author:  Thomas Vernon Wollaston
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Feb 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 205.3: 299
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1806

From S. P. Woodward   [after 4 June 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Note on cases of representative shells that are not clearly either varieties or species.

Author:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 4 June 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 205.9: 403
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1807

To John Maurice Herbert   2 January [1856]

Summary

Thanks JMH for book of poems.

Recalls early days together. He cannot visit due to health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  2 Jan [1856]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.121)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1814

To W. D. Fox   3 January [1856]

Summary

Thanks WDF for his help and reports on progress in "the Cock and Hen line of business". Has written to every quarter of the world for skins of poultry and pigeons.

As for seeds, Hooker and Bentham obstinately refuse to believe they can live even a few years in the ground.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  3 Jan [1856]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 86)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1815

To John Stevens Henslow   3 January [1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for JSH’s letter, which has been of real use.

Complains of the trouble caused by reports to Government required of Benefit Clubs.

Interested in case of Canada geese with seed in crop, because means of distribution is now a great hobby.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  3 Jan [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A106–A107
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1816
Document type
letter (258)
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
Hooker, J. D. (39)
Tegetmeier, W. B. (24)
Lyell, Charles (12)
Lubbock, John (10)
Woodward, S. P. (10)
Fox, W. D. (9)
Gray, Asa (8)
Huxley, T. H. (8)
Watson, H. C. (8)
Harcourt, E. W. V. (7)
Blyth, Edward (6)
Henslow, J. S. (6)
Wollaston, T. V. (6)
Bunbury, C. J. F. (5)
Dana, J. D. (5)
Bentham, George (4)
Darwin, W. E. (4)
Eyton, T. C. (4)
Mantell, W. B. D. (4)
Berkeley, M. J. (3)
Birch, Samuel (3)
Edmondston, Laurence (3)
Gray, J. E. (3)
Lubbock, J. W. (b) (3)
Royal Society of London (3)
Andersson, C. J. (2)
Bosquet, J. A. H. de (2)
Daniell, W. F. (2)
Darwin, G. H. (2)
Davidson, Thomas (2)
Davy, John (2)
Gosse, P. H. (2)
Herbert, J. M. (2)
Higgins, John (2)
Layard, E. L. (2)
Murray, John (b) (2)
Phillips, John (2)
Babington, C. C. (1)
Bakewell, R. H. (1)
Brent, B. P. (1)
Covington, Syms (1)
Dickie, George (1)
Elliot, Walter (1)
Everest, Robert (1)
Falconer, Hugh (1)
Galton, Francis (1)
Gardeners’ Chronicle (1)
Gulliver, George (1)
Gurney, J. H. (1)
Hancock, Albany (1)
Harvey, W. H. (1)
Holland, Miss (1)
Horner, K. M. (1)
Horner, Leonard (1)
Hotham, Harriet (1)
Hutton, Thomas (1)
Lowe, R. T. (1)
Lubbock, Harriet (1)
Lyell, K. M. (1)
Mackintosh, F. E. E. (1)
Morris, John (1)
Norman, Ebenezer (1)
Oldfield, H. A. (1)
Quatrefages de Bréau, Armand de Quatrefages (1)
Reed, G. V. (1)
Richardson, John (1)
Robillard, Victor de (1)
Sabine, Edward (1)
Spencer, Herbert (1)
Stainton, H. T. (1)
Thompson, John (1)
Thwaites, G. H. K. (1)
Unidentified (1)
Wallace, Peter (1)
Wedgwood, F. E. E. (1)
Wedgwood, Godfrey (1)
Westwood, J. O. (1)
Yarrell, William (1)
Date
1856disabled_by_default
01 (20)
02 (10)
03 (15)
04 (20)
05 (24)
06 (33)
07 (26)
08 (19)
09 (18)
10 (15)
11 (34)
12 (24)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next