skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
1840::01 in date disabled_by_default
10 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From J. G. Malcolmson   2 January 1840


Discusses CD’s Glen Roy paper; would like to see the theory put beyond dispute. Tells of Mr Stables’ observations on the parallel roads. Discusses geological features of Scotland which he is sure are marine in origin.

Author:  John Grant Malcolmson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1840
Classmark:  DAR 171: 31; Geological Society of London (Membership certificates, 1840)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1147

To [W. A. Leighton?]   [1840–77?]


Valediction only of a letter stuck into a writing case.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Allport Leighton
Date:  [1840–77?]
Classmark:  Estate of the late Mr D. Evans (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13770H

To William Walton   [1840–2]


Comments on the quality of the meat of the guanaco.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walton
Date:  [1840–2]
Classmark:  Walton 1844, pp. 43–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548A

To William Walton   [1840–2]


Describes the range of conditions under which the guanaco thrives and the ease with which it can be tamed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walton
Date:  [1840–2]
Classmark:  Walton 1844, pp. 50–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548B

To John Edward Gray    1 January [1840]


Testimonial in behalf of JEG’s application for the position of keeper of the zoological department of the British Museum from which John George Children was about to resign.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  1 Jan [1840]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (General Library, J. E. Gray Miscellaneous papers vol. 1: f.118)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548C

To T. C. Eyton   [6 January 1840]


Has been unwell.

Thanks TCE for his descriptions [of specimens for Birds]. Has already expended a high proportion of Government grant on birds, but if TCE thinks engravings are needed, he shall have them. He may keep the bones.

CD has become a father.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Date:  [6 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-549

To Basil Hall   [7 January 1840]


CD regrets inconvenience caused by his having Royal Geographical Society’s copy of Krusenstern’s Atlas [de l’océan Pacifique (1824–7)]. Locates Sulphur Island from it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Basil Hall
Date:  [7 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-550

To A. Y. Spearman   16 January 1840


Presents the Smith, Elder & Co. account for the first number of the fourth part (now published) of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman, 1st baronet
Date:  16 Jan 1840
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-550A

To the Geological Society of London   22 January 1840


W. B. Clarke’s paper on ashes falling at sea off Cape Verde Islands [Proc. Geol. Soc. Lond. 3 (1839): 145–6] need not be published in Transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  22 Jan 1840
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/COM/P/4/2/38)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-551

To J. S. Henslow   [24 January 1840]



Sends specimens from Indian Ocean atolls.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [24 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A3–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-552