skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
1868::08 in date disabled_by_default
18 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Cassell, Petter & Galpin   [August–December 1868]



CD arranges for copies of some blocks [for use in Descent] from Brehm’s [Illustrirtes Thierleben (1864–7)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Cassell Petter & Galpin
Date:  [Aug–Dec 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6300

To M. J. S. Schultze   [after 4 August 1868]



Expresses gratitude for the distinguished honour conferred upon him by the University of Bonn.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Max Johann Sigismund Schultze
Date:  [after 4 Aug 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6304

To G. H. Lewes   7 August [1868]


Thinks GHL’s articles are quite excellent; hopes they will be republished.

Discusses adaptation. Doubts whether similar conditions without selection can produce similar organs independent of blood relationship: "resemblances due to descent and adaptation can commonly be distinguished".

Discusses luminous insects, electrical organs of fish, thorns and spines.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Lewes
Date:  7 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 42; Argyll Papers, Inveraray Castle (NRAS 1209/985)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6308

To Charles Alexander Johns   13 August [1868?]


CD not a good enough botanist to form a judgment of specimen. Does not understand whether CAJ supposes the variety to be a result of hybridism or of the present very hot summer, which CD cannot doubt will have an effect on some British plants in their struggle for life.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  C. A Johns
Date:  13 Aug [1868?]
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (A27 p. 60)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6312

To G. D. Hinrichs   13 August 1868


Acknowledges GH’s letter and the lecture on "Faith and science".

Cannot form a judgment on his chemical theory, but if GH establishes his case it will be a magnificent discovery.

"Faith and science" contained many ideas new to CD. Hooker, too, has read it with interest.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gustavus Detlef Hinrichs
Date:  13 Aug 1868
Classmark:  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois History and Lincoln Collections (Hinrichs Papers, IHLC MS 712, Box 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6313

To Asa Gray   15 August [1868]


AG’s coming visit to England.

Hooker’s Presidency of BAAS.

A month at the Isle of Wight has done almost nothing for CD.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  15 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (98)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6316

To J. V. Carus   16 August [1868]


Regrets having missed JVC’s visit. CD’s health is poor. He hopes JVC will come to Down after BAAS meeting.

Has heard second part [of Variation] is out in German. Thanks JVC for his great care in making translation accurate.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  16 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 25–26)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6317

To Fritz Müller   17 August 1868


FM’s additions for English edition [1869] of Für Darwin.

Dimorphic plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  17 Aug 1868
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6320

To J. D. Hooker   17 [August 1868]


Enjoyed JDH’s visit.

Mrs Cameron’s photograph of JDH is grand.

Has heard J. V. Carus will be at Norwich. Suggests JDH mention that Origin was translated by two distinguished naturalists, H. G. Bronn and Carus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  17 [Aug 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 83–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6321

To Ernesto Susanni   18 August [1868]


Hopes to find the article by Terenzio Mamiani della Rovere (Mamiani della Rovere 1868) on his return home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carlo Ernesto (Ernesto) Susanni
Date:  18 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Lionheart (dealer)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6321F

To A. R. Wallace   19 August [1868]


The problem of dimorphic plants and their fertility.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  19 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 143–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6322

To Louis Agassiz   19 August 1868


Thanks LA for information on sexual differences in the coloration of Amazonian fish. CD was anxious to know how the sexes differed because they are unusual in that the male has the largest share in looking after ova and young.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Louis Rodolphe (Louis) Agassiz
Date:  19 Aug 1868
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (MS Am 1419: 278)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6323

To J. D. Hooker   19 August 1868


Asks JDH to obtain from Sven Nilsson information on whether, in reindeer species in which both sexes are horned, the horns are first developed earlier or later than in species in which males alone have horns.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  19 Aug 1868
Classmark:  Lund University Library Special Collections (Sven Nilsson papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6324

To J. D. Hooker   23 August [1868]


Pleased at success of JDH’s address. Has read several press reports.

Spectator pitches into JDH about theology ["Dr Hooker on the evidences", 22 Aug 1868, pp. 986–7].

Feels JDH has "immensely advanced the belief in evolution of species".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  23 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 85–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6327

To Henry Austin Bruce   24 August [1868?]


Thanks correspondent for information. CD does not care much for more cases of striped asses,

but is pleased at the interesting case of the affectionate jackal that licks like a domestic dog.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Austin Bruce, 1st Baron Aberdare
Date:  24 Aug [1868?]
Classmark:  Sir Brooke Boothby (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6330

To T. C. Eyton   25 August [1868]


Thanks TCE for copy of his book [Osteologia avium (1867)].

Recalls visits to Eyton.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Date:  25 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.353)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6331

To Eduard Koch   27 August 1868


Would like to see reviews of book [Variation].

Health has lately been indifferent.

Cannot at present pledge to give [EK?] translation rights to next book.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Eduard Koch
Date:  27 Aug 1868
Classmark:  Interlibrium (Cat. 276)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6332

To J. J. Moulinié   29 August [1868]


Hopes JJM can visit tomorrow and stay the night.

Would like to ask Carl Vogt if he is still in London.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  29 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. fr. 1557, ff. 213–14)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6332F
Document type
letter (18)
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
01 (1)
04 (1)
07 (1)
13 (2)
15 (1)
16 (1)
17 (2)
18 (1)
19 (3)
23 (1)
24 (1)
25 (1)
27 (1)
29 (1)