skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1837::06 in date disabled_by_default
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Charles Babbage   [June – September 1837]


At Lyell’s request sends his copy of Whewell’s History of inductive sciences [1837] to CB.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [June – Sept 1837]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37190: 322)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-358

To William Buckland   [15 June 1837]


Describes the two species of lizard [Amblyrhynchus] found in the Galapagos Archipelago.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Buckland
Date:  [15 June 1837]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-359

To Francis Beaufort   16 June 1837


CD wants to request the assistance of Government to support the expense of the numerous engravings necessary for the publication of the results of the extensive collections in various departments of Natural History during the Beagle voyage. To what quarter should he apply?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Beaufort
Date:  16 June 1837
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-360A

To William Whewell   18 June [1837]


Asks Whewell questions on earthquake wave action.

Thanks him for signature [to CD’s request to Chancellor of the Exchequer for funds for Zoology].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Whewell
Date:  18 June [1837]
Classmark:  Trinity College Library, Cambridge (Add c 88: 3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-361

To J. S. Henslow   [20 June 1837]


Upon the advice of Captain Beaufort and with embarrassment to himself CD asks JSH whether he would be perfectly willing personally to take the letter requesting government assistance directly to Thomas Spring Rice [Chancellor of the Exchequer].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [20 June 1837]
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-361A

To F. W. Hope   [21 June 1837]


Discusses insect specimens he left with FWH. Asks if he may state on FWH’s authority that a third or a half of the specimens from Sydney and Hobart Town are undescribed – a striking fact, showing imperfect knowledge of the insects in the close neighbourhood of the two Australian capitals.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick William Hope
Date:  [21 June 1837]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological collections)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-362