skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "letter 1849 Darwin, Emma"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
letter and 1849 and Darwin and Emma in keywords disabled_by_default
1857 in date disabled_by_default
2 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. D. Hooker   8 April [1857]

thumbnail

Summary

Independence of variation from climate shown by several plant genera; CD asks for confirmation.

Progressing with book [Natural selection].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Apr [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 191
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2073

Matches: 1 hit

  • Emma Darwin’s trip to Hastings (see n.  5, below). See letter to J.  D. Hooker, [21 March 1857] . Polygala vulgaris is common milkwort. Harvey 1849 , …

To W. D. Fox   [30 April 1857]

Summary

His impressions of the hydropathic establishment and E. W. Lane. Is convinced the only thing for "chronic cases" is the water-cure.

Asks if WDF knows of any breed of pig that originated or was modified by a cross with a Chinese or Neapolitan pig, and whether the crossbreed bred true.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [30 Apr 1857]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 103)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2085

Matches: 2 hits

  • Emma Darwin’s diary). CD returned to Moor Park for two weeks in June (‘Journal’; Appendix II). For CD’s belief that his condition was much relieved by the water-cure, see Correspondence vol.  4, letter to W.  D. Fox, 7 [July 1849] . …
  • letters to Susan Darwin, [19 March 1849] , and to W.  D. Fox, 4 September [1850]. Lane believed that a change of scenery was an essential constituent of therapy, the site of Moor Park having been chosen for its location in a ‘picturesque district abounding in pleasant and varied walks, with a dry soil under-foot and the fresh breezes of health playing about … over-head from morning till night’ ( Lane 1857 , p.  43). Emma Darwin
Document type
letter (2)
Author
Addressee
Correspondent