skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Wedgwood, Caroline", date is "1876"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Wedgwood and Caroline in keywords [X]
1876 in date [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To C. S. Wedgwood   20 April 1876

Summary

Grieves over poor account of her health. Emma and Henrietta are also ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  20 Apr [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 153: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10461

Matches: 3 hits

  • … Darwin, C. R. Darwin, Caroline Wedgwood, Caroline
  • … Down 20 Apr [1876] Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin/Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
  • … D. Fox, 26 May [1876] ). Caroline and her husband, Josiah Wedgwood II, visited the Darwins …

To W. D. Fox   26 May [1876]

Summary

Caroline [Wedgwood] has been ill for the last 20 months.

James Paget to be consulted about William Darwin’s brain concussion.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  26 May [1876]
Classmark:  University of British Columbia Library, Rare Books and Special Collections (Pearce/Darwin Fox collection RBSC-ARC-1721-1-11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10515

Matches: 3 hits

  • Caroline [Wedgwood] has been ill for the last 20 months. James Paget to be consulted about …
  • … s letter has not been found. Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, CD’s sister, had fallen ill during a …
  • … Place in Surrey was the home of Caroline and Josiah Wedgwood III. William Erasmus Darwin’s …

To S. A. Cecil   8 June 1876

Summary

Thanks for kindness in organising special train for Caroline Sarah Wedgwood when she was taken ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Sackville Arthur Cecil
Date:  8 June 1876
Classmark:  Hermitage Fine Art, Monaco (dealers) (7–8 July 2020, lot 751)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10535H

Matches: 2 hits

  • … kindness in organising special train for Caroline Sarah Wedgwood when she was taken ill. …
  • Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, CD’s sister, seems to have been taken ill at Felixstowe in August …

To Francis Darwin   2 October [1876]

Summary

Thanks FD for corrections [to Orchids (1877)].

Thinks Johann von Fischer’s paper on monkeys’ rumps [Der Zoologische Garten 17 (1876): 116–27, 174–9] worth translating, and he intends to write a letter on it to Nature [Collected papers 2: 207–11].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  2 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10629

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Place in Surrey, the home of Josiah Wedgwood III and Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, from 4 to 7 …

To J. V. Carus   [early October 1876]

Summary

Tells JVC that to the title on the first page [of Cross and self-fertilisation] is to be added "in the vegetable kingdom".

Guesses that Orchids [2d ed.] will be 20 or 30 pages longer than the old edition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  [early Oct 1876]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 66–67)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10627

Matches: 1 hit

  • … on 4 October to visit his sister, Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, and her family at Leith Hill …

To George Cross   6 October [1876]

Summary

CD is much interested in a change in Drosera reported by GC, but "rather doubts" exclusion of insects can have caused it; would like to see the plant and suggests sending it to Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Cross
Date:  6 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10633

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Surrey, the home of his sister, Caroline Susan Wedgwood, and her family (CD’s ‘Journal’ ( …
Document type
letter (6)
Author
Date
1876
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (1)
10 (3)