skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Wedgwood, Caroline", date is "1822"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Wedgwood and Caroline in keywords [X]
1822 in date [X]
2 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Dear Friend   3 January 1822

Summary

"Monseur Beodoes" is inquisitive and impertinent; Mr Bayly "was formerly a devlish boor". Asks who his sisters have been talking about.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friend
Date:  3 Jan 1822
Classmark:  DAR 271/1/1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1H

Matches: 1 hit

  • Wedgwood 1980). ‘Beddoes’ was, however, a fairly common name in early-nineteenth-century Shropshire. CD refers to two or more of his sisters, Marianne, Caroline

To Dear Friend   12 January 1822

Summary

Was joined by Colonel Burgh Leighton when walking in the quarry. Plans to make caves next summer to store "warlike instruments" and "relicks". Sketches a design for a signalling device. May go with his father to visit the Earl of Powys at Walcot; visited Mrs and Miss Reynolds and William Pemberton Cludde.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friend
Date:  12 Jan 1822
Classmark:  DAR 271.1.1: 6v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1M

Matches: 1 hit

  • Caroline Sarah Darwin. CD probably refers to Arleston, a hamlet in the township of Wellington, Shropshire, about eleven miles east of Shrewsbury ( Post Office directory of Gloucestershire, with Bath, Bristol, Herefordshire, and Shropshire 1856). Hannah Reynolds and her daughter, Susanna, lived at Ketley Bank, near Arleston. Hannah Reynolds was both niece and daughter-in-law of the Quaker ironmaster and philanthropist Richard Reynolds, a friend of CD’s grandfather, Josiah Wedgwood
Document type
letter (2)
Author
Addressee
Friend (2)
Correspondent
Date
1822
01
03 (1)
12 (1)