skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Ralfs, John", date is "1874::06"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Ralfs and John in keywords [X]
1874::06 in date [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To John Ralfs   [after 25 June 1874]

Summary

Wants particularly to know whether seeds or leaves of other plants are ever found adhering to the leaves of Pinguicula. Observations would perhaps best be made in a month or two.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Ralfs
Date:  [after 25 June 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 59.1: 88
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9514F

Matches: 3 hits

  • … Darwin, C. R. Ralfs, John
  • … To John Ralfs   [after 25 June 1874] …
  • … DAR 59.1: 88 Charles Robert Darwin Down [after 25 June 1874] John Ralfs

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   9 June 1874

Summary

Did not know cabbage contained so much nitrogen.

Pinguicula more excited by seeds than Drosera. Asks for information about Pinguicula.

Asks name of weed.

Asks to borrow Utricularia plant.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  9 June 1874
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W. T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9486

Matches: 2 hits

  • … Hooker. Thiselton-Dyer suggested that CD approach John Ralfs (see letter from W.  T.   …
  • … 25 June 1874 ; see also letters from John Ralfs, 8 July 1874 and 9 July 1874). Thiselton- …

To ?   8 June 1874

Summary

Asks about insects and seeds on leaves of Pinguicula.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  8 June 1874
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.435)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9230

Matches: 1 hit

  • … used as the basis for the draft letter to John Ralfs, [after 25 June 1874] ; CD marked the …

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   26 June 1874

Summary

Thanks for letter and seeds.

Asks that Hooker return references about plants eating insects.

Discusses Pinguicula.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  26 June 1874
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W. T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 14–15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9515

Matches: 1 hit

  • … letter. Exalbuminous: having no albumen. John Ralfs; see letter from W.  T.   Thiselton- …

To W. C. Marshall   8 June [1874]

Summary

Asks what proportion of leaves of Pinguicula have insects adhering to them. Also, whether seeds of any plants ever adhere to the leaves, and in what situations does P. vulgaris grow.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Cecil (Bill) Marshall
Date:  8 June [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 97: C61–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9485F

Matches: 1 hit

  • … to ? , 8 June 1874 , and letter to John Ralfs, [after 25 June 1874] ; see also letter to …

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   25 June 1874

thumbnail

Summary

Reports on his examination of the dried specimens of Pinguicula at Kew to answer CD’s query whether all species secrete.

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 June 1874
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 64–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9513

Matches: 1 hit

  • … of Pinguicula (butterwort); the botanist John Ralfs was known to Joseph Dalton Hooker (see …