skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Murray, John (b)", addressee is "Darwin, C. R.", date is "1862"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Murray and John and b in keywords [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
1862 in date [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From John Murray   30 January [1862]

Summary

Discusses manuscript by H. W. Bates [Naturalist on the river Amazons (1863)].

Mentions CD’s forthcoming book [Orchids].

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Jan [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3420

Matches: 1 hit

From John Murray   [1 July – 23 August 1862]

Summary

Account of Orchids.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 July – 23 Aug 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 525
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3635F

Matches: 1 hit

From J. D. Hooker   [19 January 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

JDH castigates the Americans after the Trent affair. The value of an aristocracy. How will CD answer Asa Gray’s letter?

His "remarkable plant" [Welwitschia mirabilis] exhibited at Linnean Society.

Genera plantarum is in press.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [19 Jan 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 8–11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3395

Matches: 1 hit

  • B. Baillière. Orchids : On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. …

From Charles William Crocker   17 February 1862

Summary

Thanks for Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63].

Separation of sexes in Billbergia.

Offers to experiment under CD’s direction, now that he has retired from Kew.

Author:  Charles William Crocker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Feb 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 254
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3449

Matches: 1 hit

  • B.  bivittata refers to its having six stamens, ‘three attached to the petals, short, with sterile(? ) anthers in the pistillate flowers’, and to the pistil being ‘absent in some flowers’. Daniel Oliver, who was the librarian and assistant in the herbarium at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, became professor of botany at University College London in 1861. CD sent most of the manuscript of Orchids to his publisher, John Murray, …

From Charles Cardale Babington   17 January 1862

Summary

Thanks CD for his Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63].

Asks if CD has observed the true oxlip (Primula elatior).

Comments on Hottonia and Stellaria graminea. [See Forms of flowers, pp. 72, 313.]

Author:  Charles Cardale Babington
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 110 (ser. 2): 58–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3393

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Murray. 1877. Lecoq, Henri. 1854–8. Études sur la géographie botanique de l’Europe et en particulier sur la végétation du plateau central de la France. 9 vols. Paris: J. B. …

From Robert Swinhoe   12 November 1862

Summary

Sends CD a specimen of the domestic pigeon of China.

Discusses a race of ducks he believes are hybrids between the Muscovy and Chinese domestic duck.

Author:  Robert Swinhoe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Nov 1862
Classmark:  DAR 177: 326
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3803

Matches: 1 hit

  • B. 1987. Robert Swinhoe (1836–1877), FRS, FZS, FRGS: a Victorian naturalist in Treaty Port China. Geographical Journal 153: 37–47. Origin : On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. …
Document type
letter (6)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1862
01 (3)
02 (1)
07 (1)
11 (1)