skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Huxley, T. H", date is "1849"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Huxley and T and H in keywords [X]
1849 in date [X]
2 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Richard Owen   [24 February 1849]

Summary

Thanks RO for his note on Conchoderma hunteri [see Living Cirripedia 1: 153].

Has been very unwell; has lost four-fifths of his time. Will go to Malvern to try the water-cure for his vomiting, which regular doctors cannot cure.

Has done some pretty homological work with cirripedes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [24 Feb 1849]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1228

Matches: 1 hit

  • … in anatomical science by the Right Hon. T. H. Huxley, F.R.S. 2 vols. London: John Murray. …

From J. D. Hooker   3 February 1849

Summary

Continues prior letter of this date. Has received CD’s [1202]. Thanks CD for saving his correspondence.

Sent "a yarn about species" in October mail.

Some "puerile" JDH letters printed in Athenæum.

Requests CD extract anything valuable from his letters to CD and Lyell for Athenæum.

CD’s complemental males in barnacles wonderful.

Warns CD to drop his battle about perpetuity of names in species descriptions.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Feb 1849
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew: India letters 1847–51: 136–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1220

Matches: 1 hit

  • Huxley ed. 1918, 1: 218). Before Hooker sailed, Humboldt wrote him a long letter full of instructions about the kind of observations Hooker could make in the Himalayas ( Allan 1967 , p.  168). Most of Humboldt’s letter is printed in the London Journal of Botany (1847) 6: 604–7. See letter to H.   …
Document type
letter (2)
Addressee
Correspondent
Date
1849
02
03 (1)
24 (1)