skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Fox, W. D", date is "1865"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Fox and W and D in keywords [X]
1865 in date [X]
13 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From W. D. Fox   [before 26 October 1865]

Summary

His second son [C. W. Fox] has a studentship at Christ Church, Oxford.

[Isolated fragments only.]

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 26 Oct 1865]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 204 (fragile)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4903

Matches: 3 hits

  • Fox, W. D. Darwin, C. R. …
  • … From W.  D.  Fox   [before 26 October 1865] …
  • … between this letter and the letter to W.  D.  Fox, 25–6 October [1865] . Charles Woodd Fox …

To W. D. Fox   25–6 October [1865]

Summary

Bad health during last six months has prevented scientific work.

News of family.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  25–6 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 146)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4924

Matches: 5 hits

  • … Darwin, C. R. Fox, W. D. …
  • … To W.  D.  Fox   25–6 October [1865] …
  • … residence in Shrewsbury. See letter from W.  D.  Fox, [before 26 October 1865] . CD refers …
  • … to Charles Woodd Fox. See letter from W.  D.  Fox, [before 26 October 1865] and n.  2. …
  • Fox & all your family. I know you will wish to hear about me. I have had a bad time for the last 6 months & have been able to do no scientific work. I have put myself under D r Bence Jones’s care & he has stopped my vomiting by a scanty diet of toast & meat; but I cannot recover my strength. I know you are half a Doctor therefore I thought you w d

From William Darwin Fox   6 January [1865]

Summary

Thanks CD for his Lythrum paper [Collected papers 2: 106–31].

Tells of the birth of his 16th child. Has five grandchildren.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 183
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4741

Matches: 3 hits

  • Fox, W. D. Darwin, C. R. …
  • … blessing be yours and Mrs Darwins in this new year | I am Your affec e Cousin | W.  D Fox
  • … see Correspondence vol.  12, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 30 November [1864] ). Samuel William …

To J. D. Hooker   9 February [1865]

thumbnail

Summary

Falconer’s death haunts him. Personal annihilation not so horrifying to him as sun cooling some day and human race ending.

His health has been wretched.

Masters has written his agreement with CD’s "Climbing plants".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  9 Feb [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 260
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4769

Matches: 2 hits

  • … Correspondence vol.  2, letter to W.  D.  Fox, [25 March 1843] , Correspondence vol.   …
  • … 5, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 7 March [1852] , and Correspondence vol.  11, letter to J.   …

From E. A. Darwin to Emma Darwin   25 [November 1865]

Summary

Does not like the photos; thinks they should try again.

Last account of Susan Darwin reports she is having a good deal of faintness.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  25 [Nov 1865]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B119–20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4942

Matches: 2 hits

  • … and Erasmus, had been ill (see letter to W.  D.  Fox, 25–6 October [1865] ). CD’s younger …
  • … Huxley, 4 October [1865] , and letter to W.  D.  Fox, 25–6 October [1865] and n.  2). CD’s …

From Robert Swinhoe   [before 1 October 1865?]

Summary

Reports that dogs caught in the act of sodomy have been attacked by their fellows, who mutilate the offender’s genitals.

Gives a description of the nature and occurrence of the wild Bos of Formosa.

Author:  Robert Swinhoe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 1 Oct 1865?]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 328
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4727

Matches: 2 hits

  • … Correspondence vol.  2, letter to W.  D.  Fox, [25 January 1841] , and Correspondence , …
  • … vol.  11, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 9 March [1863] and n.  1). Several notes on the topic are …

To A. D. Bartlett   14 February [1865]

Summary

CD sends thanks for feather of the Gallus.

The rabbit arrived safely, but unfortunately the entrails had been removed; if ADB catches the other one, CD would like it sent unmutilated.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Abraham Dee Bartlett
Date:  14 Feb [1865]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4771

Matches: 1 hit

  • … example, Correspondence vol.  6, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 8 [June 1856] ; see also Variation …

To Edward Cresy   19 October [1865]

Summary

Discusses income provided for sons at Cambridge.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  19 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 325
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4639

Matches: 1 hit

  • … see Correspondence vol.  1, letter to W.  D.  Fox, [11 May 1831] ). William Erasmus Darwin …

From Samuel Butler   1 October 1865

Summary

Autobiographical letter describing how, when he could not conscientiously take orders, he went to New Zealand and has now returned to England to study art.

Fascinated and delighted by Origin

and is pleased that his pamphlet [Evidence for the resurrection of Jesus Christ] pleases CD.

Author:  Samuel Butler
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 106: A1–2; Butler 1923, pp. 198–201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4904

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Correspondence vol.  1, letter to W.  D.  Fox, [ 30 June 1828] , and Appendix I). Butler …

To John Murray   31 March [1865]

Summary

Has made progress [on Variation]. Hopes it will go to press in the autumn. Lists his needs for cuts to be made – altogether 50.

Supposes Origin has ceased selling. Would be sorry to have labour of another edition. A new French edition is wanted.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  31 Mar [1865]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 131–135)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4801

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Correspondence vol.  5, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 24 [October 1852] and n.  1, and letter to …

To J. D. Hooker   7 January [1865]

thumbnail

Summary

Has finished long paper on "Climbing plants". Prefers sending it to Linnean Society if Bentham does not think it too long.

For New Zealand flora [1864–7] CD suggests JDH count plants with irregular corollas and compare with England.

Does not quite agree about Reader.

Is Tyndall author of piece on spiritualism?

CD’s illness diagnosed as "suppressed gout".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  7 Jan [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 257a–c
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4742

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Correspondence vol.  4, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 6 February [1849]). According to Holland, …

From J. D. Hooker   6 October 1865

thumbnail

Summary

On novels he has been reading: Eliot, Richardson, etc.

On Wallace, the Reader, and anthropology.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Oct 1865
Classmark:  DAR 102: 37–42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4910

Matches: 1 hit

  • … See Correspondence vol.  1, letter to W.  D.  Fox, [3 January 1830] . ‘Uncle Sam’ may be a …

From W. B. Tegetmeier   10 April 1865

Summary

MS [of CD’s pigeon chapter] arrived safely.

Pigeon and poultry engravings [for Variation].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Apr 1865
Classmark:  DAR 178: 67
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4808

Matches: 1 hit

  • … see Correspondence vol.  5, letter to W.  D.  Fox, 14 October [1855] ) in an attempt to …