skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, C. R", document-type is "letter", date is "1861::09", startDoc is "21"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and C and R in keywords [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1861::09 in date [X]
33 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2

From George Rolleston   1 September 1861

Summary

The embryology of the vertebrate nervous system may be an exception to the law of inheritance at corresponding ages.

Author:  George Rolleston
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Sept 1861
Classmark:  DAR 176: 207
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3241

Matches: 1 hit

From Charles Lyell   30 September 1861

Summary

Asks for copy of CD’s paper ["Ancient glaciers of Caernarvonshire", Collected papers 1: 163–71]. Gathers that drift of Moel Tryfan is glacial.

Believes Glen Roy roads formed later than submergence of Scotland.

Asks CD’s opinion concerning relative chronology of various glacial deposits, particularly a flint tool find in the Ouse River near Bedford.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Sept 1861
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Gen.112/2813-16)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3270

Matches: 1 hit

To T. F. Jamieson   6 September [1861]

Summary

Has read TFJ’s letter on Glen Roy. His arguments seem conclusive. CD gives up the ghost. "My paper is one long gigantic blunder." How rash it is "to argue that because a case is not one thing it must be some second thing which happens to be known to the writer".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Francis Jamieson
Date:  6 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (MS. 5406, ff. 167–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3247

Matches: 1 hit

To John Murray   10 September [1861]

Summary

Asks that a copy of Origin [3d ed.] be sent to Mlle Clémence-Auguste Royer; she has arranged with a publisher for a French translation.

Origin is exciting much attention in Germany.

Surprised to receive a Dutch translation.

Has never seen an advertisement [of 3d ed.], which is a pity. Hopes "Bishop of Oxford & Co." have not made JM sorry he published it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  10 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 104–105)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3250

Matches: 1 hit

From J. O. Westwood   26 September 1861

Summary

Has found the reference to Charles Morren’s paper, "On the agency of insects in causing sterility in flowers" [Proc. R. Entomol. Soc. Lond. 1 (1836): xliv–xlv].

Common white butterflies remove pollen-masses with their tarsi from plants of the Asclepiadaceae.

Author:  John Obadiah Westwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Sept 1861
Classmark:  DAR 181: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3267

Matches: 1 hit

To Henry Fawcett   18 September [1861]

Summary

Comments on MS of HF’s address ["On the method of Mr Darwin in his treatise on the origin of species", Rep. BAAS (1861) pt 2: 141–3]. "How odd it is that anyone should not see that all observation must be for or against some view if it is to be of any service."

Describes his health.

The response to his views in Germany, Holland, and Russia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Fawcett
Date:  18 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  Karpeles Library Museum
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3257

Matches: 3 hits

  • Darwin, C. R. Fawcett, Henry …
  • Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859. Stephen, Leslie. 1885. Life of Henry Fawcett. London: Smith, Elder. Thackray, John C. 1981. R. …
  • Darwin: a record of his work in a series of hitherto unpublished letters. Edited by Francis Darwin and Albert Charles Seward. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1903. Natural selection : Charles Darwin’s Natural selection: being the second part of his big species book written from 1856 to 1858. Edited by R. C. …

To J. D. Hooker   24 September [1861]

thumbnail

Summary

CD’s orchid paper is to become orchid book [Orchids].

Primula paper is done [Collected papers 2: 45–63].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  24 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 113
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3263

Matches: 1 hit

To Asa Gray   17 September [1861]

Summary

U. S. politics and relations with England.

Wants examples of dimorphism similar to Primula.

Structure and function of Spiranthes flower.

Observations and experiments on Drosera.

CD’s views on design.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  17 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (72)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3256

Matches: 1 hit

To John Murray   21 September [1861]

Summary

Asks JM’s opinion on publishing his MS on orchids. It has new facts, and resembles a Bridgewater Treatise, but only those who care for natural history would be interested. Would share the risk.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  21 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 106–107)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3259

Matches: 1 hit

From H. W. Bates   30 September 1861

thumbnail

Summary

Discusses the mimicry of the Volucella flies, and the bees and wasps they mimic. Compares it with the different object of mimicry in butterflies.

Refers to incompleteness of Cuthbert Collingwood’s paper [? "On homophormism, or organic representative forms", Proc. Liverpool Lit. & Philos. Soc. 14 (1860): 181–216].

Thanks CD for help in selecting a publisher for his book [The naturalist on the river Amazons (1863)].

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Sept 1861
Classmark:  DAR 205.10: 92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3271

Matches: 1 hit

To H. W. Bates   25 September [1861]

Summary

Recommends publisher for HWB; admires J. van Voorst but suggests Murray.

In reply to HWB’s letter [missing], comments on neuters and mimicry.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  25 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3266

Matches: 2 hits

  • Darwin, C. R. Bates, H. W. …
  • r . C. , I think, states that the mimetic forms inhabit same country; but I did not know whether to believe him. — What wonderful cases yours seem to be. — Could you not give a few woodcuts in your Travels to illustrate this? — I am tired with hard’s day’s work—so no more, except to give my sincere thanks & hearty wishes for the success of your Travels. — My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | C.  Darwin

To J. D. Hooker   28 September [1861]

thumbnail

Summary

Bates agrees with CD on neuter ants.

Orchids.

Repeating experiment of C. F. v. Gärtner to study Huxley’s idea of physiological species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  28 Sept [1861]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 114
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3268

Matches: 1 hit

From T. F. Jamieson   3 September 1861

Summary

Observations from a fortnight in Lochaber. Found the entrance to Loch Treig to present the clearest evidence of intense glacial action. States, in contradiction of David Milne-Home, that there is glacial scoring in Glen Spean, as Louis Agassiz described, and moraine around the mouth of Loch Treig. There is little sign of water erosion on the rocks crossed by the lines in Glen Roy. Believes the smoothed rocks at the eastern end of Loch Laggan are due to flow from the lake and not tidal action. The lines in Glen Roy are too neat for a lake shore subject to tides. Given the glacial scoring sweeping round from Glen Spean into Glen Treig, and all the boulders, TFJ is astonished that anyone could deny that there had been glaciers there. [See 3247.]

Author:  Thomas Francis Jamieson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Sept 1861
Classmark:  Kinnordy MS, Charles Lyell’s journal VII, pp. 75–92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3242A

Matches: 1 hit

Document type
letter[X]
Date
1861
09
01 (1)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (1)
06 (3)
10 (3)
11 (1)
14 (2)
15 (1)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (1)
20 (1)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (2)
24 (3)
25 (2)
26 (1)
28 (2)
30 (2)
Page: Prev  1 2