skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, C. R", document-type is "letter", date is "1861::06::15"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and C and R in keywords [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1861::06::15 in date [X]
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From B. P. Brent   15 June 1861

Summary

On his father’s crossing experiments with cacti, in which hybrids were found quite fertile.

On his breeding of guinea-pigs.

Sends Miss E. Watts’s message about crested fowls and Brahmas.

Author:  Bernard Peirce Brent
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 June 1861
Classmark:  DAR 160.2: 300
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3184

Matches: 2 hits

  • … Brent, B. P. Darwin, C. R. …
  • … Sir | Your’s sincerly | B P Brent To C Darwin Esq r . 0.3 Dear … times— 1.4] crossed red …

To the Field   [before 15 June 1861]

Summary

His thanks to "Eques" of Argyllshire for his remarkable information on the inheritance of colour in horses. Acknowledges the difficulty of defining dun. Requests further information.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  The Field
Date:  [before 15 June 1861]
Classmark:  The Field, the Farm, the Garden, the Country Gentleman’s Newspaper 17 (1861): 521
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3182A

Matches: 1 hit

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   [before 15 June 1861]

Summary

Reports his experiment with fertilising the large periwinkle (Vinca major), which he had never known to produce seed. He found that the pollen could not reach the stigma without the aid of insects, which in England never visit the flower. CD produced seeds by inserting a fine bristle, like the proboscis of a moth. Asks readers to repeat this experiment with other species that do not habitually seed and to report the result.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  [before 15 June 1861]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, 15 June 1861, p. 552
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3182

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin, C. R. Gardeners’ Chronicle …

To Bingham Sibthorpe Malden   15–16 June [1861]

Summary

Thanks BSM for orchid specimens. Discusses various species of Orchis and Ophrys.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bingham Sibthorpe Malden
Date:  15-16 June [1861]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.254)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3183

Matches: 1 hit