skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, C. R", date is "1870::05::25"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and C and R in keywords [X]
1870::05::25 in date [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To E. P. Wright   25 May [1870]

Summary

Thanks for copy of part one of EPW’s Spicilegia biologica (Wright 1870).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Perceval Wright
Date:  25 May [1870]
Classmark:  Malmö Museer (MM 031994)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7201F

Matches: 1 hit

From James Philip Mansel Weale   [25 May 1870]

Summary

Behaviour of ants.

Author:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [25 May 1870]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 43
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7201

Matches: 1 hit

To J. D. Hooker   25 May [1870]

Summary

Concern about futures of Willy [Hooker] and Horace [Darwin].

Henrietta [Darwin] back from Cannes.

CD has been to Cambridge to visit Frank [Darwin]. Saw Sedgwick, who took him to the [Geological] Museum and utterly exhausted him. Humiliating to be "killed by a man of 86".

Saw Alfred Newton.

CD has been working away on man, to much greater length (as usual) than expected,

and on cross- and self-fertilisation.

Does JDH happen to have seeds of Canna warszewiczii matured in some hot country?

Sympathises with JDH on Dawson’s paper – amusing that Dawson hashes up E. D. Cope’s and L. Agassiz’s views.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 May [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 169–72
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7200

Matches: 1 hit

Document type
letter (3)
Date