skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, C. R", date is "1848::10"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and C and R in keywords [X]
1848::10 in date [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To ?   [15 or 22 October 1848]

Summary

Thanks for note and enclosure. Has written to [David?] Landsborough to say dried specimen was just what he wanted. Would like some more in spirits.

Very unwell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [15 or 22] Oct 1848
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1204

Matches: 2 hits

  • Darwin, C. R. Unidentified …
  • r Landsborough today to tell him the dried specimen was just what I wanted if he could procure me some more in spirits. I have been & am very unwell, so will write no more, except to thank you much for all your kindness. Believe me | Yours very truly & obliged | C.  Darwin

To William Hellier Baily   5 October 1848

Summary

Send thanks for informing him of barnacles and asks that they be sent, directed to him, to the Geological Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Hellier Baily
Date:  5 Oct 1848
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (12 November 1963)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1201

Matches: 1 hit

To Jean Louis Rodolphe Agassiz   22 October 1848

Summary

Thanks LA and sends thanks to A. A. Gould for specimens. Describes principal findings of his research on cirripedes. Is obliged for information Joseph Leidy gave about cirripede eyes. Describes anatomical features and chief aspects of growth. Describes discovery of parasitic males and a species parasitic upon other cirripedes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Louis Rodolphe (Louis) Agassiz
Date:  22 Oct 1848
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (MS Am 1419: 274)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1205

Matches: 3 hits

  • Darwin, C. R. Agassiz, Louis …
  • … your & D r Goulds kindness— Pray believe me | Yours faithfully & obliged | C.  Darwin I do …
  • Darwin’s Natural selection: being the second part of his big species book written from 1856 to 1858. Edited by R. C. …

To J. D. Hooker   6 October [1848]

thumbnail

Summary

CD makes progress with barnacles. Describes "supplemental" males in detail. In working out metamorphosis, their crustacean homologies followed automatically.

CD opposes appending first describer’s name to specific name.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 Oct [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 112a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1202

Matches: 1 hit

From J. D. Hooker   13 October 1848

Summary

Hugh Falconer’s misbehaviour.

Waiting out rains at Brian Hodgson’s.

Will make botanical transverse section of Himalayas from plains to snow.

Arrangements to pass Sikkim Rajah’s territory.

No evidence of glacial or diluvial action in sub-Himalayan mountains. No evidence of detrital coal formation.

Hodgson’s replies to CD on introduced species and hybrids.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Oct 1848
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew: India letters 1847–51: 112–14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1203

Matches: 1 hit

Document type
letter (5)
Date
1848
10
05 (1)
06 (1)
13 (1)
15 (1)
22 (1)