skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, W. E. 1853"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Darwin and W and E and 1853 in keywords disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in addressee disabled_by_default
2 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Francis Darwin   [6 July 1879]


Describes bean experiments. Will tell Emma Darwin to tell Elizabeth Darwin that he has written to the Riffel.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [6 July 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 61
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12296F

Matches: 1 hit

  • 1853, is near Zermatt in the Swiss Alps. Elizabeth Darwin was on holiday in Switzerland with Mary Elizabeth Atkin ; they arrived at the hotel around 10 July 1879 (letter from Emma Darwin to W. E. …

From E. A. Darwin   26 April 1853


Acknowledges the receipt of some securities.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Apr 1853
Classmark:  DAR 262.11: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1516

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin and Josiah Wedgwood II on the marriage of CD and Emma in 1839 are given in Correspondence vol.  2, letter from Josiah Wedgwood II and Emma Wedgwood to R.  W. Darwin, 15 November 1838 , n.  1. In CD’s Investment book (Down House MS) the Edward Muckleston mortgage, the Owen mortgage, and the Maryport and Carlisle Railway shares are listed under ‘Emma’ s trust property’. The Newcastle and Carlisle preference shares are listed as CD’s property, but on 1 May 1853 they were transferred to E.   …
Document type
letter (2)
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
1853 (1)
1879 (1)