skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, G. H. Darwin, W. E. 1881 Darwin, G. H."

Darwin Correspondence Project
Darwin and G and H and Darwin and W and E and 1881 and Darwin and G and H in keywords disabled_by_default
1881 in date disabled_by_default
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. E. Darwin   19 February [1881]


Uncle Erasmus is ill.

Thanks WED for his trouble about the cottages.

He has signed the note to Higgins.

CD has used WED’s Rhododendron case in Earthworms [p. 69].

Is using paper triangles in experiments on intelligence of worms.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  19 Feb [1881]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13058

Matches: 1 hit

From W. E. Darwin   [24 April 1881]


Sends observations of wormcasts at Malvern. Describes stay at Abinger.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [24 Apr 1881]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 102)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13141G

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin, [13 March 1881] and n. 4; letter from Emma Darwin to G. H. Darwin, 16 March 1881 (DAR 210.3: 5)). William was assisting CD with his observations for Earthworms ; see letter to W. E. …

From Anthony Rich   13 June 1881


The Huxleys have visited; CD may come soon.

Author:  Anthony Rich
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 June 1881
Classmark:  DAR 176: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13202

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)). George had travelled to Madeira in early February 1881 for a convalescent stay and arrived back in England at the end of March ( letter to W. E. Darwin, 4 February [1881] ; letter from Emma Darwin to G. H. …
Document type
letter (3)