skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "1872 Hooker, J. D."

Darwin Correspondence Project
1872 and Hooker and J and D in keywords disabled_by_default
1877 in date disabled_by_default
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. D. Hooker   8 November [1877]



CD and Frank working hard on cotyledonary movement.

CD suggests technique for growing Welwitschia.

Approves of J. D. Dana and of O. Heer.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 461–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11229

Matches: 1 hit

  • J. D. Hooker, 19 October 1877 ). Susan Ridley Sedgwick Norton , the sister of Sara and Theodora, died in 1872. …

From W. D. Fox   29 November [1877]



Congratulates W. E. Darwin, who is about to be married,

and CD for the LL.D. conferred upon him by Cambridge.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11261

Matches: 1 hit

  • … 29 February 1872] and n. 4, Correspondence vol. 22, letter to J. D. Hooker, 30 November [ …

To Francis Darwin   [10 June 1877]


Asks FD to forward some eczema mixture to Southampton for him

and to hunt out notes on earthworm activity at Beaulieu Abbey.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [10 June 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10995

Matches: 1 hit

  • J. D. Hooker, 26 [March 1863] ). CD stayed at William Erasmus Darwin’s house in Bassett, Southampton, from 13 June to 4 July 1877 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). William had examined earth at the base of stones at the ruined abbey in Beaulieu, Hampshire, on 5 January 1872 ( …
Document type
letter (3)