skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1865 in date [X]
1865 in date [X]
260 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Charles Kingsley   [17 June 1865]

Summary

Did not think anyone would notice case of Lathyrus.

Recalls reading correspondent’s paper on great fir woods of Hampshire.

Thanks for photograph.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Kingsley
Date:  [17 June 1865]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher Collection: FF10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13877

To Henry Denny   23 March [1865]

Summary

Interested by HD’s information on aperea; CD had concluded that it was not the progenitor of domestic guinea-pigs.

Is unsure what HD means by "stock-dove"; properly this is Columba oenas and the domestic pigeon is C. livia.

Suggests that the Zoological Society might arrange for some specimens [unspecified] to be supplied from the Gardens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Denny
Date:  23 Mar [1865]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.120)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2435

From John Murray   1 April 1865

Summary

Will be proud to publish CD’s new work on domestic animals [Variation]. Will announce it as the complement of the Origin. Advises on woodcuts; does not wish to limit number; agrees to CD’s suggestions for artists.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Apr 1865
Classmark:  DAR 171: 332
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3493

To John Murray   4 April [1865]

Summary

Discusses proposed publication of Variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  4 Apr [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 434
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3494

From J. D. Hooker   [3 November 1865]

thumbnail

Summary

Kew affairs.

H. J. Carter’s observations are wonderful but want verification.

Skeptical of H. H. Travers’ observations.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3 Nov 1865]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 43–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4330

From Lucy Caroline Wedgwood   [April–May 1865?]

thumbnail

Summary

Observations for CD on oxlips, which she finds never grow near cowslips or primroses.

Author:  Lucy Caroline Wedgwood; Lucy Caroline Harrison
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Apr–May 1865?]
Classmark:  DAR 108: 171–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4370

From Richard Spruce   [1865–77]

Summary

Notes on various instances of dimorphism.

Author:  Richard Spruce
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1865–77]
Classmark:  DAR 109: B119
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4372

From Thomas Rivers   6 January [1865]

Summary

Thanks CD for his paper on Lythrum [Collected papers 2: 106–31].

Astonished by CD’s powers of observation and perseverance.

His elms raised from three varieties of weeping elms are doing well.

Author:  Thomas Rivers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 176: 163
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4381

To Asa Gray   19 April [1865]

Summary

Congratulates AG on the "grand news of Richmond".

Still interested in dimorphism and would welcome new cases.

Working on Variation

and correcting proofs of Climbing plants.

Would like seed of AG’s dimorphic Plantago.

Cannot understand how the wind could fertilise reciprocally dimorphic flowers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  19 Apr [1865]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (77)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4467

From W. E. Darwin   [April–May 1865]

Summary

Sends camera outlines of pollen. Thinks the red longstyled ones are more sterile than the yellow.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Apr–May 1865]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4506F

From Ellen Frances Lubbock   [27 August – 1 September 1865]

Summary

JL is in France with J. Steenstrup.

Author:  Ellen Frances Hordern; Ellen Frances Lubbock
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [27 Aug – 1 Sept 1865]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4603

To Edward Cresy   7 September [1865]

Summary

May his son George call for advice on his career?

CD has been ill for past four months.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  7 Sept [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 324
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4610

To Edward Cresy   19 October [1865]

Summary

Discusses income provided for sons at Cambridge.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  19 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 325
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4639

To Daniel Oliver   24 October [1865]

Summary

Thanks for correcting Fritz Miller’s paper on climbing plants. CD will send it to Linnean Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  24 Oct [1865]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 60 (EH 88206043)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4643

From Robert Swinhoe   [before 1 October 1865?]

Summary

Reports that dogs caught in the act of sodomy have been attacked by their fellows, who mutilate the offender’s genitals.

Gives a description of the nature and occurrence of the wild Bos of Formosa.

Author:  Robert Swinhoe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 1 Oct 1865?]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 328
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4727

From William Erasmus Darwin   [late February–May 1865]

thumbnail

Summary

[Outline sketches of pollen from short-styled yellow primrose and from long-styled yellow and red primroses.]

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [late Feb–May 1865]
Classmark:  DAR 108: 89a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4729

From Thomas Henry Huxley   1 January 1865

Summary

Sends photograph.

THH wishes he could write the popular zoology but writing is a boring and slow process when he is not interested, and he is overburdened with lectures.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1865
Classmark:  DAR 166: 304
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4732

From Henrietta Anne Huxley   1 January 1865

Summary

Has just been shown CD’s remarks on Tennyson. Upbraids CD for "Owen-like quotation" out of context, and getting source wrong. "If ""facts"" in Origin are of this sort I agree with Bishop of Oxford."

Author:  Henrietta Anne Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1865
Classmark:  DAR 166: 284
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4733

From Joseph Dalton Hooker   1 January 1865

thumbnail

Summary

Forwards H. T. Stainton letter for reply.

Finds many Cucurbita have tendrils with sticking ends.

The "potentiality of so many organs in plants to play so many parts is one of the most wonderful of your discoveries . . . one day it will itself play a prodigious part in the interpretation of both morphological and physiological facts".

Is disgusted with Sabine’s address [see 4708] because of its mutilation of what JDH wrote.

THH’s slashing leader in Reader ["Science and ""Church policy"" ", 4 (1864): 821] – as usual he destroys all in his path.

Encloses letter from G. H. K. Thwaites with a message for CD [see encl].

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1865
Classmark:  DAR 102: 1–3; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, DC vol. 162 doc. 224
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4734

From Henry Holland   2 January 1865

Summary

Thanks for Lythrum paper [Collected papers 2: 106–31].

T. S. Cobbold’s book on the Entozoa [1864].

Remarks on development of the tapeworm.

Author:  Henry Holland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1865
Classmark:  DAR 166: 245
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4735
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1865
01 (38)
02 (19)
03 (28)
04 (24)
05 (24)
06 (22)
07 (13)
08 (10)
09 (15)
10 (30)
11 (21)
12 (16)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next