skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1866 in date [X]
1866 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
412 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Robert Caspary   [after 9 June 1866]

Summary

Data on good and bad pollen-grain yields of different species. Sends sketches of two male Rhamnus catharticus flowers [see Forms of flowers, p. 294].

Author:  Johann Xaver Robert (Robert) Caspary
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 9 June 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 109: A81; DAR 111: B45, B48b, B48c
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10344

To Francis Darwin   [after 12 October 1866]

Summary

Instructions on paying a bill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [after 12 Oct 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13793

From W. D. Fox   [before 1 March 1866]

Summary

Would much like to see Dr Birchfield appointed superintendent of the new asylum at Woking.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 1 Mar 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 205
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13808

To Charles Lyell   [26 April 1866 – 14 December 1871]

Summary

CD asks if he can call tomorrow (Friday) at 9: 30, and offers to come on Saturday if that would suit CL better.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [26 Apr 1866 – 14 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections DC AL 1/2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13825G

From William Turner   [after 28 April 1866?]

Summary

Observations on a bird that used a stone to break open a snail.

Author:  William Turner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 28 Apr 1866?]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 197
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13850

From John Walton   [after 4 April 1866]

thumbnail

Summary

Reports of a tooth found in the testicle of a horse.

Hares are very fleet in countries in which greyhound coursing is developed, slow in those in which no greyhounds are kept.

Author:  John Walton, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 4 Apr 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 47: 210
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13851

To E. F. Lubbock   [1 October 1866]

Summary

"… Mr Herbert Spencer. I will call tomorrow about half past 12".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ellen Frances Hordern; Ellen Frances Lubbock
Date:  [1 Oct 1866]
Classmark:  Henry Bristow (dealer) (Catalogue 265)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13863

To [H. B. Jones?]   13 April [1866]

Summary

CD’s plans have changed. He will be in London the following week and therefore able to call on correspondent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Bence Jones
Date:  13 Apr [1866]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (17 December 1973)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13868

To H. A. Huxley   [before 25 November 1866?]

Summary

Asks if he may call on Sunday at 10 o’clock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henrietta Anne Huxley
Date:  [before 25 Nov 1866?]
Classmark:  Janet Huxley (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2797F

From W. E. Darwin   8 May [1866]

thumbnail

Summary

Describes the floral structure of broom, particularly the form of the varying anthers. Encloses drawings of anthers and pollen.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 May [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 76: B52, 66–72
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3144

From E. F. Lubbock   [1 October 1866]

Summary

Herbert Spencer is staying with the Lubbocks and would much like to see CD.

Author:  Ellen Frances Hordern; Ellen Frances Lubbock
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Oct 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4728

From Richard Trevor Clarke   6 November [1866]

Summary

Wants to publish his observation on colour changes in Matthiola seeds.

Has been crossing cotton.

Approves of C. V. Naudin and Max Wichura.

Author:  Richard Trevor Clarke
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Nov [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 163
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4932

To Edward Blyth   10 December [1866]

Summary

Asks for reference to EB’s article about tame deer on island in Aral Sea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Blyth
Date:  10 Dec [1866]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4950

From Harriet Lubbock   [April? 1866]

Summary

Local matters.

Author:  Harriet Lubbock
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Apr? 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4960

To George Howard Darwin   [1866]

Summary

Asks GHD what the chances are against squinting and non-squinting children coming alternately in a family of ten.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4961

From W. E. Darwin   [23 June 1866]

Summary

Ovules of males of two forms [of Rhamnus catharticus?] are abortive and both females have incomplete stamens.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23 June 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 109: A75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4962

To a local landowner   [1866?]

Summary

Requests that correspondent take some action regarding the state of horses on his farm. Robert Ainslie of Tromer Lodge, Down, was fined in 1852 following CD’s complaints.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Landowner, local
Date:  [1866?]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 27r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4963

From Daniel Oliver    [after 13 May 1866]

Summary

Gives CD some references to papers.

Reports improvement in his wife’s health.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 13 May 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4964

From E. A. Darwin   [before 20 February 1866?]

Summary

Lyell calculates enviously that CD can do more work than any of the philosophers.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 20 Feb 1866?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4965

From Charles John Robinson   [1866?]

Summary

Has a small living at Norton Canon.

Will visit Charles Whitley next week.

Author:  Charles John Robinson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1866?]
Classmark:  DAR 176: 188
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4966
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1866
01 (22)
02 (43)
03 (26)
04 (43)
05 (36)
06 (30)
07 (31)
08 (35)
09 (21)
10 (41)
11 (34)
12 (50)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next