skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
1848 in date [X]
1848 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
84 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next

To Harriet Lubbock   [December 1848 – 1849]


Belittles the loss of a book borrowed from CD.

Acknowledges cheque in payment for purchase of microscope for John Lubbock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Harriet Lubbock
Date:  [Dec 1848–9]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.70)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1041

To James Scott Bowerbank   [January–August 1848]


Thanks him for Balanus specimens. Comments on his findings. A large Acasta in the wet state would be valuable. Asks JSB to mention his work to J. T. Quekett at the College of Surgeons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Scott Bowerbank
Date:  [Jan–Aug 1848]
Classmark:  John Hay Library, Brown University (Albert E. Lownes Manuscript Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1045

To John Thomas Quekett   7 September [1848]


Asks about collection of mollusc specimens he had lent to Richard Owen.

Asks about seeing cirripede collection of the College.

Comments on larva of Scalpellum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Thomas Quekett; Royal College of Surgeons
Date:  7 Sept [1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.62)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1114

To John Innes   [1848?]


Suggests various remedies for toothache.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  [1848?]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1141

To Josiah Wedgwood III   [July 1848]


Writes about Emma’s trust account investments and calls due upon them. Sends his record and asks JW to bring it up to date.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III
Date:  [July 1848]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 1019)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1142

To George Warde Norman   [1848]


Seeks excuse from jury duty on grounds of ill health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Warde Norman
Date:  [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 189
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1143

From Susan Elizabeth Darwin   [1848?]



[Valediction only.] CD note on verso: Athenaeum/48/p. 839 "E. Forbes on genera being continuous in time––good––fact".

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1848?]
Classmark:  DAR 205.10: 96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1145

To James Smith   28 January [1848]


CD asks if he may have the use of the cirripedes JS collected in Portugal. He will need to break up or make a section of at least one of each species.

Expresses admiration for JS’s paper on Malta ["On recent depressions in the land", Q. J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 3 (1847): 234–40], with its striking demonstration of the change of level between land and water there discovered.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Smith
Date:  28 Jan [1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1148

To William Crawford Williamson   31 January [1848]


Thanks WCW for his article ["Microscopical objects found in mud of Levant", Mem. Lit. & Philos. Soc. Manchester 2d ser. 8 (1848):1–128]. Comments on it; offers to send Ascension Island specimens. Urges WCW to re-examine coal-beds for Infusoria to determine whether intervening beds were deposited by sea-, brackish, or fresh water.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Crawford Williamson
Date:  31 Jan [1848]
Classmark:  Kobunso (Mr Sorimachi, bookseller, Tokyo)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1149

To Richard Owen   [4 February 1848]


Has been invited to contribute geological instructions [to J. F. W. Herschel, ed., Manual of scientific enquiry (1849); Collected papers 1: 227–50]. Asks RO whether remarks on coral reefs appertain to geology rather than zoology.

Looks forward to visit by Owens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [4 Feb 1848]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1150

To John Frederick William Herschel   4 February 1848


Undertakes to write geological part of Admiralty Instructions [A manual of scientific enquiry (1849), Collected papers 1: 227–50]. Has doubts as to his success.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  4 Feb 1848
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1151

To Andrew Crombie Ramsay   4 February [1848]


Invites him to dinner on Saturday the 12th. Charles and Mrs Lyell, Edward Forbes, Richard Owen, and Thomas Bell coming also.

"Will you bring your map of S. America … and we will have a talk over it."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Date:  4 Feb [1848]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1152

To J. E. Gray   5 [or 6] February 1848


Thanks the Trustees of the British Museum for entrusting to him the collection of Cirripedia and allowing him to disarticulate one specimen of each species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  [5 or 6] Feb 1848
Classmark:  British Museum (Central Archive ‘Original Papers’, vol. XXXIX)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1153

To James Smith   6 February [1848]


Thanks for present of fossil Balani.

Thanks also for JS’s request to David Landsborough to send barnacle specimens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Smith
Date:  6 Feb [1848]
Classmark:  Glasgow City Archives (396/TD1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1153F

To George Robert Waterhouse   [6 February 1848]


Invites GRW to a dinner party with other scientists.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Waterhouse
Date:  [6 Feb 1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.69)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1154

To J. E. Gray   [5 or 6 February 1848]


Discusses loan of cirripede specimens from the British Museum and problems of classification. Encloses a note of thanks to be laid before the Trustees [see 1153].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  [5 or 6] Feb 1848
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.72)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1155

To W. C. Williamson   12 February [1848]


CD cannot find the lagoon-island mud that WCW asked about, but he sends other geological specimens he hopes will be interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Crawford Williamson
Date:  12 Feb [1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1156

To John Phillips   14 February [1848]


Asks for the reference in which JP states that some erratic boulders came from a lower to a higher level. CD is writing a paper ["Transportal of erratic boulders", Collected papers 1: 218–26] in which he believes he has the true explanation. Would like as many instances, with details, as possible.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  14 Feb [1848]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1157

From J. D. Hooker   20 February – 16 [March] 1848


Though correspondence has never ebbed so low, CD is constantly in his thoughts.

Observations on cheetahs used as domesticated hunting animals.

Finds geographical barriers sometimes separate species, but also finds species that remain separate where there are no barriers to migration.

Colour "individuates" isolated animal species.

Plains and alpine animal distribution show altitude not strictly analogous to latitude.

Impact of timber cutting on climate has led to extinction of crocodiles.

Will discuss coal formation in letter to Edward Forbes.

CD often asked whether isolated mountains in southern latitudes had closely allied representatives of Arctic and north temperate plants; JDH has found a representative barberry.

Making for Darjeeling via Calcutta.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Feb – 16 [Mar] 1848
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (India letters 1847–51: 52–4 JDH/1/10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1158

To James Clark Ross    25 February [1848]


Thanks for sending cirripedes. Cannot make out the label, so can JCR tell him the bank and the depth. Hopes to keep the specimens for 6 or 8 weeks before returning them.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Clark Ross
Date:  25 Feb [1848]
Classmark:  Scott Polar Research Institute (MS 1226/10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1158A
Document type
01 (7)
02 (13)
03 (7)
04 (6)
05 (12)
06 (7)
07 (9)
08 (4)
09 (6)
10 (5)
11 (3)
12 (5)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next