skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Tyndall   11 August [1874]1

Bassett, Southampton

Aug. 11th

My dear Tyndall

You will see that I am away from home & your note has been forwarded to me here; but I am sorry to say that I have not received the Proofs.2 These wd. be apt to be delayed one post in being sent to Down & another in being forwarded here.— I will return them to R. Institution by next post, after receiving them, if they ever come here.

I most heartily wish you well through your hard week at Belfast. I cannot even fancy surviving such a week of excitement.3

Yours very truly | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from John Tyndall, 5 August 1874.
Tyndall had arranged for proof-sheets of his address to the British Association for the Advancement of Science (Tyndall 1874) to be sent to CD. CD was staying with his son William Erasmus Darwin, in Southampton.
The annual meeting of the British Association was held in Belfast from 19 to 26 August 1874.


CD has not received the proofs [of JT’s Belfast address to BAAS].

Wishes JT were through with Belfast [meeting of BAAS, 1874]. CD cannot imagine surviving such a week of excitement.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Tyndall
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 261.8: 20 (EH 88205958)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9597,” accessed on 24 October 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22