skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Easton and Anderson   4 May [1874]1


My son H. D. wishes much to continue at your works, where he has now had a months trial; I shd be much obliged if you could send him the indenture for signature.2 I beg to call your attention to one point.: my son has been for some time recently out of health & his physician Dr Andrew Clark of C. Sqe3 urges him strongly not to overexert at first & he thinks that he will thus gradually gain strength.— My son is most desirous to enter your works; & I am sure that he will never voluntarily be idle. Under these circumstances I trust that you will be so good as not to bind him to long hours of work.

Gentlemen | Your obliged & obedi servt | C. D.

May 4th.

Easton. & Anderson | The Grove | Southwark | London


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to W. D. Fox, 11 May [1874].
Horace Darwin served a three-year apprenticeship with the engineering firm Easton and Anderson of Erith, Kent (ODNB).
Andrew Clark’s home and consulting room from 1867 was at 16 Cavendish Square, London (ODNB).


ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


CD’s son Horace wishes to continue at Easton and Anderson’s Works. CD trusts they will not bind him to long hours of work as this would be against medical advice.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Easton and Anderson
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 97: C55
Physical description
AdraftS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9440,” accessed on 28 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22