skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Anton Dohrn   7 March 1874

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

March 7th. 1874

My dear Dr Dohrn

I have just heard from Huxley that you are much over-worked and troubled about the Zoological Station.1 This has grieved me much. I am glad that you are now willing to receive assistance from English naturalists, not on your own account, but for the Zoological Station. I have written to Huxley about communicating with any men who will be likely to give their aid in this good work.2 As I do not know whether you may may not be short of money at present, I have thought that you would allow me to send you at once my subscription of £100, and one of £10 each from my two sons George & Francis. As I want to catch todays post, I write in haste, but believe me you have my heartfelt sympathy & respect.

Yours very sincerely | Charles Darwin

Dr Anton Dohrn


CD’s letter has not been found. Thomas Henry Huxley had suggested this plan for raising funds for Dohrn in November 1873 (see Correspondence vol. 21, letter from T. H. Huxley to Anton Dohrn, 15 November 1873). Dohrn’s father initially resisted the idea of Dohrn’s receiving funds raised by English naturalists, but had recently changed his mind (see letter from T. H. Huxley, 6 March 1874 and enclosures).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


CD is grieved to hear that AD is overworked and troubled about the Zoological Station. Glad he is now writing to seek assistance from English naturalists. Sends a subscription of £100 and £10 each from George and Francis Darwin.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Felix Anton (Anton) Dohrn
Sent from
Source of text
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München (Ana 525. Ba 712)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9338,” accessed on 3 August 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22