skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Huxley   20 December 1872

Athenæum Club | Pall Mall S.W.

Dec. 20. 1872

My dear Darwin,

I am utterly disgusted at having only just received your note of Tuesday—1 But the fact is there is a certain inconvenience about having four addresses as has been my case for the most part of this week—in consequence of our moving—and as I have not been in Jermyn St. before today I have missed your note—2 I should run round to Queen Anne St. now on the chance of catching you but I am bound here by an appointment3

However, it just occurs to me that Mrs Litchfield said something last Tuesday about you coming to stay with her—& I shall send this note to her address4

Please send me a post card to 4 Marlborough Place

Abbey Road N.W.

to say what time tomorrow I may call & have a chat with you   My lectures are out today & I am free—

You may judge what a joy moving has been in this weather—5

Ever yours very faithfully | T. H. Huxley


See letter to T. H. Huxley, [17] December [1872]. In 1872, 17 December was a Tuesday.
Huxley’s four addresses included the residence he moved from at 26 Abbey Place, St John’s Wood; his new residence at 4 Marlborough Place, Abbey Road, St John’s Wood; the Athenaeum Club, where he wrote this letter; and the Government School of Mines on Jermyn Street, where he was lecturer in natural history and palaeontology.
CD was staying at Erasmus Alvey Darwin’s house at 6 Queen Anne Street, London.
Henrietta Litchfield’s address was 9 Devonshire Street, Portland Place. CD, however, stayed with Erasmus Darwin for the entire time he was in London (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
The Huxleys moved house ‘amid endless rain and mud’ (L. Huxley ed. 1900, 1: 384).


Personal affairs – the move to Marlborough Place.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Huxley
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Athenaeum Club
Source of text
DAR 166: 327
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8687,” accessed on 4 June 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20