skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Briton Riviere   26 May 1872

May 26/72

Dear Sir

Pray accept my best thanks for the two books which I shall value much.1

I am going to Scotland tomorrow week but I hope to send you the other sketch before then & I will see Cooper about the cutting of the blocks.2

I am dear Sir | Yours truly | Briton Riviere

Footnotes

A copy of Journal of researches, inscribed ‘Briton Riviere from the author May 1872’, was acquired by an antiquarian bookseller (19th Century Shop, private correspondence). The other book sent to Riviere by CD to thank him for providing sketches of dogs for Expression has not been found; he had mentioned Origin as a book that he would like in his letter of 22 May 1872.
The ‘other sketch’ was an a second attempt at an affectionate dog; James Davis Cooper was making woodcuts from Riviere’s sketches (see letter from Briton Riviere, 22 May 1872).

Bibliography

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Journal of researches: Journal of researches into the geology and natural history of the various countries visited by HMS Beagle, under the command of Captain FitzRoy, RN, from 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Henry Colburn. 1839.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Summary

Thanks for CD’s books [unspecified].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8353
From
Briton Riviere
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
unstated
Source of text
DAR 176: 179
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8353,” accessed on 4 July 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-8353.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20

letter