skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Roland Trimen   26 July 1871

71, Guildford Street, | Russell Square, | London. W.C.

26th. July, 1871.

My dear Mr. Darwin,

Since writing to you from the Cape, I have suddenly been called to England in consequence of the death of my father.1

I have but a few months leave of absence, but hope to have the great pleasure of meeting you before I leave again (which will probably be early in November next).2

I can scarcely hope to see you at Edinburgh, to which place I mean to go on Monday next, for the Brit. Assocn. Meeting:3 and it is not at all likely that you will be coming to town at this time of year, though it is more like early April than July, as far as the weather goes. But I heard, the other day, at Albury, Surrey, that a Mr. Darwin had taken a house called “Haredene” on the Heath there, for a short time; &, from sundry playful allusions to monkeys &c, I almost concluded that it must be the Mr. Darwin.4 If you are really going there for a time, I should venture to call on you soon after my return from the North, if I hear that you are feeling strong enough to see visitors.

I send you by book-post a copy of a modest publication called the “Cape Monthly Magazine” (June, 1871), in which there is a short notice of the “Descent”, which I wrote merely with the object of to some extent counteracting the false idea of the work afforded to the not very learned Cape public by stupid paragraphs & mangled extracts in the Colonial newspapers.5

Hoping to hear of your improved health, I remain | Faithfully yours, | Roland Trimen


See letter from Roland Trimen, 17 and 18 April 1871. Trimen was writing from Guilford Street, the address of his brother, Henry Trimen, where his late father, Richard Trimen, had also resided (Post Office London directory 1871).
Trimen was a clerk of the second class in the Colonial Office, Cape of Good Hope (South Africa; Colonial Office list 1871).
The annual meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science was held at Edinburgh from 2 to 9 August 1871 (Report of the 41st meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (1871): lxxxiii).
The Darwins stayed at a house called Haredene, in Albury, Surrey, from 28 July to 25 August 1871 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
Trimen’s review of Descent appeared in the Cape Monthly Magazine n.s. 2 (1871): 321–30.


Colonial Office list: The Colonial Office list … or, general register of the colonial dependencies of Great Britain. London: Edward Stanford; Harrison & Sons. 1862–99.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


Hopes to visit during CD’s stay at Haredene.

Letter details

Letter no.
Roland Trimen
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Guildford St, 71
Source of text
DAR 178: 188
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7883,” accessed on 25 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19