skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From William Ogle   [after 17 December 1870]1

34 Clarges St.

My dear Mr. Darwin

I shall be much pleased if you are able as you kindly propose to pay me a visit when you are next in London.2 I am always at home from ten to one in the morning excepting on Mondays and Fridays when my Hospital duties take me away earlier than usual.3 Should I however, hear from you that any hour whatsoever is more convenient to you I will most certainly take care to be then at home, as I should much regret losing the pleasure of seeing you.

I have heard from Professor Wyman, who chances to be just now going to pay a visit to Florida. He has promised to get what information he can as to the question of white and black pigs, and if possible to make some experiments himself on the matter.4

Incidentally he mentioned that by an inadvertence in your work, you have spoken of Virginia instead of Florida, as the region in which his observations were made. I do not know whether this is the case; but I thought that if it be so you might like to have your attention called to the unimportant slip, so that it might in after editions be corrected.5 With kind regards

Believe me | Yours sincerely | William Ogle.

C. Darwin Esqr.


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to William Ogle, 17 December [1870].
Ogle was assistant physician at St George’s Hospital in Tooting, London (The Times, 15 April 1912, p. 9.)
Ogle refers to Jeffries Wyman. See letter to William Ogle, 17 November [1870].
In Variation 2: 227, CD gave a case on the authority of Wyman of all the pigs in a particular region of Virginia being black, since they fed on a root that made the hooves fall off all but the black varieties. He did not make the correction in Variation 2d ed., 2: 212.


Variation 2d ed.: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1875.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Would be pleased to be visited by CD.

J. Wyman will make observations on black pigs and white pigs in Florida.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Ogle
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Clarges St, 34
Source of text
DAR 173: 5
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7397,” accessed on 15 May 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18