skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen   27 November 1870

Delft

27 November 1870

Sir!

Mr Kramers of Rotterdam told me the contents of your kind letter to him of the 19th inst.1

Hearing you would be glad to know, who he would employ for the translation of your new work: the descent of man and selection in relation to sex,2 I take the liberty to introduce myself— I am naturalist, had my education at the university of Leiden of Prof. I. van der Hoeven and was promoved there in 1866 to Mathereas magister et philosophiae naturalis Doctor3

Mr Kramers wrote to Mr Murray in the name of Mr Ykema, bookseller and editor in this town.4

Mr Ykema and I, we are happy with your approbation to see your work translated in the Dutch language and were glad to receive the clean sheets of the greatest part of Vol. I.

To obtain now the right of translation we want to show and to depose the title of your book, please send me or Mr Ykema such as soon as possible with which you wil oblige very much

Sir | Yours faithfully | Dr H. Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen

Footnotes

CD’s letter to Hendrik Adrianus Kramers has not been found; however, see the letter to John Murray, 15 November [1870], and the letter from John Murray, 16 November [1870].
Descent.
Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen earned two advanced degrees, one of which was in the natural sciences (NNBW). His professor was the comparative anatomist and anthropologist Jan van der Hoeven.
See letter from John Murray, 10 October [1870]. Johan Ykema was to publish the Dutch translation of Descent (Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen trans. 1871–2).

Bibliography

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

NNBW: Nieuw Nederlandsch biografisch Woordenboek. Edited by P. C. Molhuysen et al. 10 vols. Leiden: A. W. Sijthoff’s Uitgevers-Maatschappij. 1911–37.

Summary

Concerning the Dutch edition of Descent.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7384
From
Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Delft
Source of text
DAR 184: 15
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7384,” accessed on 18 April 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-7384.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18

letter