skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   10 June [1870]1

50, Albemarle St. | W.

June 10.

My Dear Sir

Judging from what you have told me from time to time about your new book, I shd not be surprised if you were in that state of forwardness—that you might allow me to announce it as a forthcoming publication in my next Quarterly List. If this shd turn out to be the case, I shd be obliged by your favoring me with a form of Title— if I am mistaken, & you are not nearly ready to go to press—I pray you to excuse me for thus troubling you, at least I shall understand silence to mean that the time has not yet come. I hope your health is good & think our Artists have executed well—the few woodcuts you have put in hand—2

I am my Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John Murray

Charles Darwin Esq


The date is established by a pencil annotation on the letter and by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Murray, 9 April [1870].
CD had planned to speak to Murray about woodcuts for Descent in November 1869 (see Correspondence vol. 17, letter to John Murray, [after 18 September 1869] and n. 5). He also had woodcuts made by George Henry Ford and Edward A. Smith (see Correspondence vol. 17).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Asks CD whether he is far enough along with his new work [Descent] to allow him to announce it as a forthcoming publication in his next quarterly list.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50
Source of text
DAR 171: 375
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7226,” accessed on 5 March 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18