skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From St George Jackson Mivart   8 March [1870]1

6 Pelham Crescent | Hastings

March 8th (Tuesday evening)

My Dear Sir,

I hope this letter may be in time to save you from making a journey to North Bank for nothing— I am stopping here for a short time to give my wife a little repose after the anxiety attending the recent death of my dear Mother—2 We purpose returning in about a week & then I need hardly assure you how much pleasure I shall feel in receiving a visit from you—

With best regards | believe me, | My dear Sir | Your’s most truly | St. G. Mivart.


The year is established by the reference to the death of Mivart’s mother (see n. 2, below).
Mivart’s mother, Caroline Georgina Mivart, died in the first quarter of 1870 (BMD (Death index)). Mivart’s wife was called Mary Anne. North Bank, Regent’s Park, London, was Mivart’s usual address.


BMD: General Register Office, England and Wales civil registration indexes. England & Wales birth index, 1837–1983. England and Wales marriage index, 1837–1983. England and Wales death index, 1837–1983. Online database. Provo, Utah: The Generations Network. 2006.


Will not be returning to London for a week; writes to save CD’s calling.

Letter details

Letter no.
St George Jackson Mivart
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 171: 183
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7129,” accessed on 20 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18