skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Dudley Campbell   29 July [1869]

Caerdeon Barmouth | North Wales.

July 29.

My dear Sir

I have had pleasure in appending my name as you desire it, for I have no doubt that the Westminster Review has aided materially in spreading liberal opinions.1 In order to save writing a separate letter I have taken the liberty to enclose a cheque for £5 as my subscription.2

The date of this letter will explain the cause of my delay in answering it.3

I am much obliged for your kind enquiries about my health, which I am sorry to say remains much the same

My dear Sir | yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

P.S | I return home tomorrow morning


The request from Campbell and enclosure have not been found.
A payment of £5 to Campbell on 29 July 1869 is recorded in CD’s Account books–banking account (Down House MS), and the same amount is recorded as paid to Westminster Review under the heading ‘Gifts–Annual Subscriptions’ in CD’s Classed account books (Down House MS).
CD probably refers to the place rather than the date. He had been away from home since 10 June 1869 and arrived back on 31 July 1869 (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 17, Appendix II)).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Sends cheque for £5 as subscription to Westminster Review.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Dudley Campbell
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (MS 5509: 92)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6844,” accessed on 16 February 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17