skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   18 April [1869]1

Down. | Beckenham. | Kent.

Ap 18th.

My dear Sir

Our notes have crossed on the road. Your table about the greyhounds is of the greatest interest to me & I thank you sincerely. The effect of the seasons is very curious on the sexes, but I do not think it would be worth while to go over the missing years.2

I should be grateful for any information about the plumage of the chickens of any breed & about the other points of which you have memoranda.

If it would not cause you too much trouble, I should like to hear one or two cases of the strong transmission of colour by certain greyhounds independantly of that of the other sex.

Many thanks for the very curious paper in the Field.3

I am ready for the eggs of the Fowls whenever you can get the three lots, & the sooner the better; & if you will let me have a line telling me that you have them I will send a messenger for them. Please let them be named; & you must let me know what you have paid for them.4

My dear Sir, | yours very sincerely | Charles Darwin

P.S. | I enclose a cheque for ten guineas, not as a remuneration, for that is quite out of the question, but that you may not have lost heavily by all the time which you have so kindly given me.—


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 17 April 1869.
The article in the Field newspaper has not been identified.


Thanks for greyhound table; interested in transmission of colour in greyhounds and relationship to sex.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6702,” accessed on 28 October 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17