skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. H. K. Thwaites   26 October [1868]1

Down Bromley Kent

Oct 26

Dear Thwaites

As you have been so very kind as to assist me about my queries, I enclose a few slightly corrected copies.2 Pray stir up any likely & accurate man &

Believe me | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the reference to sending further copies of CD’s queries about expression (see n. 2, below).
CD had already sent Thwaites copies of his printed queries on expression with his letter of 31 January [1868]; those had also included amendments. Thwaites replied with comments of his own, and forwarded replies from Samuel Owen Glenie (see letters from G. H. K. Thwaites, 1 April 1868 and 22 July 1868). A copy of CD’s printed queries is preserved with this letter; it does not include any handwritten corrections but differs slightly from the earlier version reproduced in Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix V. Query 13 includes the words: ‘or cannot himself do something’ after ‘cannot prevent something being done’. Query 14 includes ‘the’ before ‘children’. CD retained both changes in the list of queries published in Expression, pp. 15–16.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Encloses Queries about expression.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.335)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6431,” accessed on 15 August 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16