skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. S. Dallas   12 October 1868

Yorkshire Philosophical Society | York

12th. Oct. 1868.

My dear Sir

I have at last got my “Record” off my hands & will now resume Fritz Müller.—1 I should think he will be finished in a fortnight.— Shall I send the copy to you as it is finished, or to Mr. Murray?—2 I suppose if I mark the numbers of the woodcuts, the printers will be able to identify them,3—some of them are rather too complicated to be easily sketched upon the copy.—

I heard last week that Mr. Jenkins, the Assistant Secretary to the Geological Society is canvassing for the Secretaryship to the Agricultural Society & that he stands a good chance of success—4 Should he get the appointment, I intend making a strong push for his post at the Geological Society & my friends tell me that I should stand a very good chance.— I saw Huxley & one or two other members of the Council when I was in town last week,5 & they are very well-disposed towards me, but I wish to secure as many friends in the matter as I can & I therefore venture to write to you to ask you if you will use your influence in my behalf, & when the time for action comes give me a testimonial.—

I am but very slightly acquainted with Sir Charles Lyell, who is one of the Council, & I should think a word from you at the proper time would serve me with him.—

Believe me | My dear Sir | Your’s very truly | W. S. Dallas.

Chas Darwin Esq. F.R.S. | &c &c &c


For Dallas’s work on the Record of Zoological Literature, see the letter from W. S. Dallas, 19 August 1868 and n. 3. Dallas was translating Fritz Müller’s Für Darwin (F. Müller 1866, W. S. Dallas trans. 1869).
John Murray was the publisher of W. S. Dallas trans. 1869.
CD had purchased clichés of the woodcuts from the German publisher of F. Müller 1866 (see letter to Fritz Müller, 16 March [1868]). The printers were William Clowes & Sons.
Henry Michael Jenkins had been assistant secretary, librarian, and curator at the Geological Society of London since 1862. He became secretary of the Royal Agricultural Society on 1 January 1869 (Journal of the Royal Agricultural Society of England 5 (1869): vi). See also letter to H. M. Jenkins, [after 1 October 1868].
Thomas Henry Huxley was president of the Geological Society in 1868; for the other officers and members of the council, see the Quarterly Journal of the Geological Society of London 24 (1868): xvii.


Will finish translation of Für Darwin in a week.

Asks CD to use his influence to get him appointed Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society [London].

Letter details

Letter no.
William Sweetland Dallas
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Yorks. Philos. Soc., York
Source of text
DAR 162: 23
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6417,” accessed on 27 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16