skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. E. Gray   17 February [1868]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Feb 17

My dear Gray

Many thanks for Nathusius recd safely.2 When in London I will call on you & shall be much obliged if you will tell me your views on the specific differences of pigs.3

I do not know who has cut me up so severely in the Ath: nor do I know whom you mean by the “great friend of John Murray.

From 2 or 3 little points I suspect the author to be your great man in the Museum—4

My dear Gray | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. E. Gray, 17 February 1868.
CD was in London from 3 March to 1 April 1868 (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix II)).
Gray had alluded to the author of the anonymous review of Variation in the Athenaeum ([Robertson] 1868a) as ‘the great friend’ of John Murray, CD’s publisher. CD believed the review was by Richard Owen.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Nathusius, Hermann von. 1864. Vorstudien für Geschichte und Zucht der Hausthiere zunächst am Schweineschädel. 1 vol. and atlas. Berlin: Wiegandt und Hempel.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks for Nathusius [Die Racen des Schweines (1860)].

CD will call on JEG to hear his views on specific differences of pigs.

Does not know who has "cut me up so severely" in the Athenæum but suspects "your great man in the Museum" [Richard Owen].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Edward Gray
Sent from
Source of text
British Library (Egerton MS 2348: 234)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5885,” accessed on 14 July 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16